Handling Two

*This was written on Thursday but I didn’t have a chance to read it over or finish the last sentence until this morning.

Today was a tough day, and it made me (somewhat) doubt my ability to be a mama to two kids. At this point, there’s no going back. She’s going to be here in a little over two months, and I am so incredibly excited to meet her. 

I had lots of anxiety and fear over having to care for an infant while keeping a toddler happy during the first trimester of this pregnancy. Suddenly, those fears disapated. Maybe my hormones regulated, maybe the sun came out (love me some vitamin D), or something else, but I felt great. Confident. Let’s do this!

Today I watched another kiddo (8 months), and it was so challenging. She’s a sweet little girl, but she’s dealing with separation anxiety and really hasn’t been away from her parents much. She needed to be constantly held. There was crying from both Finley and the LO, sometimes at the same time. I was in survival mode the whole time, and unfortunately we did very little playing. 

At one point, when both were overtired and in tears, I attempted to divide and conquer. LO went in the pack n play while I read Finley a couple books to help her calm down before attempting to put her down for a nap. That failed.

Finley came in the nursery where the pack n play was set up. I put Daniel Tiger on the iPad, and I held the little girl in the rocker while she napped. During this time, Finley pooped, and it was definitely past her normal nap time. I tried putting LO down in the pack n play, but her eyes opened immediately. 

The LO’s mom came to pick her up at 1:30pm, and Finley was still awake (she’s normally asleep by 12:30pm). After she left, Finley was not interested in napping, even though she was exhausted. Finally, she fell asleep at 2:55pm.

Long story short, having two kids isn’t going to be easy (duh). I know the situation today was unique, but it gave me a glimpse into how challenging some days may be with two. 

I wrote this all while holding my sleeping daughter, who finally fell asleep in her crib and only slept there for 45 minutes. It’s now 4:30, and she’s about to wake up. 

3 thoughts on “Handling Two

  1. Sorry it was so rough. A close friend of mine had her second a little over 6 months ago and it has actually been helpful to hear that sometimes they’re all 3 crying at the same time — it is a hard adjustment for the parents and older siblings. Your fears are totally understandable (I have them too!) But I think you will amaze yourself with how you rise to the occasion, even with a few tears. You can do it!

    • Thanks! I’m hoping I’ll be able to handle my own two with grace and patience, but I definitely expect days filled with tears (from all three of us girls).
      Have you been helping prepare Emma for being a big sister? I’d love any advice 🙂

      • I’ve been telling her ways she can help with baby and how mommy is going to have more stuff to do but I think there’s really only so much they can understand at this age before baby comes. Some advice I heard from friends was to include the older sib in everything, even though it takes longer, and to still fit in intentional playtime with the older one one-on-one. I’m mostly hoping for an easy baby though! That will help a ton.

Leave a Reply

