Really?

I’d like to think I’m pretty tough, have a decent ability to handle pain and discomfort, and am healthy enough. While I’m prone to self-diagnose via Dr. Google, it stems from a need to know why.

This pregnant mama needs to catch a break! Here’s why.

A week and a half ago, I had a bad sore throat that turned into a sinus infection. Last Wednesday, there was so much pressure behind my face that my eyes were red, puffy and watery. I was prescribed amoxicillin and aside from some lingering phelgm, it’s gone. 

Tuesday night of this week, I came home and idiotically shut my right thumb in the car door. Ouch! It turned blackish blue in less than ten minutes and throbbed constantly. Sleep was not very restful Tuesday night despite Tylenol and ice. 

I read online that sometimes a small hole will be drilled in a bruised nail to let the blood out and relieve the pressure, so I called my doctor’s office. After speaking to a nurse, she scheduled an appointment with my doctor. My doctor said the bruising didn’t cover enough of the nail bed to warrant drilling a hole in it (not sure if I was relieved or not about that) and that I could take ibuprofen. Apparently this pain reliever only really needs to be avoided during the third trimester of pregnancy, or at least that’s what she told me. At home, I found a bottle of aspirin – thinking it was the same as ibuprofen – and took three doses throughout the remainder of the day.

My thumb started to feel much better Wednesday late afternoon and did not affect my sleep. However, an itchy body did affect my sleep.

I woke up this morning to a body covered in hives. For real. Dr. Google stated I could take Benadryl, and luckily we had liquigels in the medicine cabinet, but I just noticed they expired in 2013. Awesome. Anyways, Brody suggested I still call my doctor to let her know what was happening. I’m 99% positive I’ve taken aspirin before, and that’s the only thing I can think of that was different yesterday. Before the itching really started during the night, I did notice my hands were itchy, but I chalked it up to their dryness. 

*Update: My doctor thinks I’m having an allergic reaction to the amoxicillin I’m on for the sinus infection. I’ve been instructed to stop taking it. 

And the cherry on top? My backs of my legs look like someone beat me up due to the varicose veins and spider veins, and the constant dull ache and pressure “down there” from my special veins create a very ugly and uncomfortable situation. My fingers and legs are crossed that all of the veins go back to normal after I give birth. 

Basically my body is a war zone and is failing me. Dramatic much? 

You can thank me for sparing you photos of my aforementioned ailments.

2 thoughts on “Really?

Leave a Reply

