Christmas Cookie Frosting Tradition

It’s December 17, and I have yet to bake a Christmas cookie. Whaaat?!?! As someone with a giant sweet tooth, that is so very wrong. Normally I do a cookie exchange with two teacher friends I met during my semester long stint at a high school in Janesville, but that didn’t happen this year. Also, Brody’s office has been a sugar bomb lately, and the last thing he wants to come home to are cookies. Or does he…?

Growing up, my grandparents (my mom’s folks) would come over before Christmas every year to help my sister and I frost sugar cookies. My mom would make the dough, cut them out, and bake them (and maybe we helped?), while Laura and I got to do the fun stuff with Grandma and Grandpa.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/b88/31532619/files/2014/12/img_3891-0.jpg
Sweet rollers, huh?

*Random fact: My grandma’s name is Shirley, but my grandpa calls her Kate. It’s more of a “pet” name, but I’ve never heard him call her by her real name.

Even when my sister and I were in college, we’d find time to continue this tradition.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/b88/31532619/files/2014/12/img_3895.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/b88/31532619/files/2014/12/img_3893.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/b88/31532619/files/2014/12/img_3896.jpg
There’d be frosting made from milk, butter and powdered sugar of all different colors, sprinkles, and red hot candies. My grandpa would show us his “Indian trick” where he’d swirl two different colors of frosting on one cookie. We’d end up with snowmen, Santa Clauses, Christmas trees, boots, stars, and angels all in various colors.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/b88/31532619/files/2014/12/img_3894.jpg

Of course the tradition of it made this so special. I hope to continue this with our kids, whether they frost cookies with Brody and I, their grandparents, or aunts and uncles. But, I’d say the other special part of making cookies was eating them. My mom’s sugar cookies are incredible. She sent me a text picture of her recipe, and you lucky people are going to see it now, in all of its buttery glory.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/b88/31532619/files/2014/12/img_3889.jpg

Can’t you see the love and happiness in the worn and torn edges?

This afternoon while Finley napped, I made the dough.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/b88/31532619/files/2014/12/img_38881.jpg
My plan was to make a half batch, but I accidentally forgot to halve the sugar, so in went two more sticks of butter. Because we have plans this afternoon post-nap, I didn’t make any of the cookies. I think I’ll bake and frost some tomorrow to bring to a kids’ holiday party through my weekly play group. Maybe this weekend, Finley, Brody and I can all frost cookies together.

2 thoughts on “Christmas Cookie Frosting Tradition

  1. Love this tradition – this recipe may motivate me to make cookies with C !! Is Shirley in the name running for for the new baby?! 🙂

    • Haha! Shirley has not been in our name discussion. I wonder how often that name is given these days.
      So glad you and C may make cookies too! Post a pic on Instagram if you do 😃

Leave a Reply

