From Conception to Reality

No, I’m not pregnant. I know that’s probably what you were thinking when you saw the title. However, what is happening in my life right now feels similar to pregnancy. Let me explain.

Brody and I bought our house just over seven years ago. He had finished law school a year before, and I was wrapping up student teaching. We only looked at a few houses, found this one, and bought it for the asking price. That was May 2007. And then the recession hit.

When we bought the house, we didn’t think about how long we’d be in it, the school district, etc. We liked it, so we bought it. Now with two large dogs, a kid, and me watching other littles, more space would be nice. Also, we enjoy hosting our families for holidays and would like to have enough bedrooms for most of them.

So, after talking about it for a year, we put our house on the market.

On Tuesday, July 1, it went “live” (i.e. It was on MLS).

On Thursday, July 3, the sign in the front yard went up.

On Tuesday, July 8, we had our second ever showing.

On Thursday, July 10, we had an offer (from the second showing people).

Now here’s my pregnancy analogy:

When I took the pregnancy test and it was positive, it was such a unique feeling. I (and if I can speak for Brody too) was excited, scared, happy, and lots of other emotions. When Brody told me we had an offer, I felt almost the same way. Up until that moment, selling and moving had been a topic of discussion, an idea. Now, it was happening. Life was going to change.

With this big moment, however, came some sadness. I’ll miss neighbors, the comfort of our space, being close to good friends in Sun Prairie and lots of stores, the PAC, and even the three mile running loop I’ve done a gazillion times.

The selling of our house is moving (pun intended) along well. The inspection is happening right now, and the appraisal is this afternoon. We’ll be (again, hopefully) closing August 18 with a move out date of August 15. Obviously it’s not sold until then, and I’m aware offers can fall through. I don’t even want to think about that, though.

Aside from the shock and stress of selling our house so quickly, we have no new house to move into. Brody is exploring temporary housing options, and we’ll continue to look at houses that come on the market in our desired area. Unfortunately, lots of the houses in our price range and with our must-haves have sold in the past couple months, and the rate of new houses for sale is slowing down. As many people have told us, this is a good problem to have. I don’t like “good” problems.

So that’s where I’m at. Many of you who know me in real life may not know this was going on. It’s been such a whirlwind that I’ve been horrible at returning calls (Claire, Susan, and Tina – I’m sorry!!!). Also, I think Brody and I haven’t wanted to jinx anything by sharing via FB.

Things will work out, and like my friend Jena said, one day we’ll look back at this time and say “Remember when…”

And just because, here are a few Finley pictures.

20140716-103548-38148011.jpg

20140716-103549-38149714.jpg

20140716-103546-38146268.jpg

20140716-103553-38153172.jpg

20140716-103544-38144282.jpg

8 thoughts on “From Conception to Reality

  1. You should know by now that I always know what I’m talking about. 6 months from now I’ll say, “Remember when you sold your house in like 2 days and you had to live with me for a month!” 🙂

Leave a Reply

