Finley Update: 10 Months

Finley has changed a lot in the last few months, and I have not done a good job of doing these updates every month like I had hoped. I have remembered to fill out the month updates in her baby book, so there’s that.

Eating (nursing):

Finley nurses five times a day for about 5-10 minutes total. She was never a dawdler when it came to eating, but this is crazy fast and so nice. Unfortunately, I’m currently dealing with an injury – her top teeth graze against my skin and have caused quite a sore. After speaking to lactation consultant, I’m going to buy an antibacterial ointment and pump that side for the next 24-48 hours. Finley doesn’t do great with a bottle, which I’ve mentioned many times before, so I may be giving her more food to supplement for a couple days. I have no plans of giving up, though. We’ll get through it.

Eating (solids):

She eats three meals a day and sometimes snacks on Cheerios. Her breakfast hasn’t changed much for the past month or two: fried egg, a fruit, and Cheerios. For lunch she eats a meat (she loves Harvestland’s chicken patties), a vegetable, a fruit, and sometimes yogurt. Dinner is similar to lunch. If our leftovers or what we’re having for dinner are appropriate for her, she eats what we’re having.
20140423-145541.jpg

Brody and I also have started eating dinner at 6pm with Finley, as we agree that’s a good habit and something important for our family. Although it’s not food, I should also mention Finley LOVES water. Her face lights up when she sees her water bottle. We bought her a kids Contigo, and she’s really good at drinking out of it. We may skip the traditional sippy cups all together.

Sleeping:

All is wonderful (knock on wood a zillion times) in the world of sleeping. Fin takes two naps a day; one around 9am and another at 1pm. Both last an hour to an hour and a half. Her bedtime is 7pm, and she sleeps through the night until 6/7am. It is glorious.

Physical Developments:

Finley may never be a crawler. She still does a slow army crawl, but that’s it. All she wants to do lately is stand. Seriously, all the time.
20140423-145802.jpg

She can cruise slowly along furniture, and on Monday in front of her grandma and me, she pulled herself up unassisted for the first time. A few times now she’s pulled herself up to a sitting position from lying down also. Although I did have one crying moment that she wasn’t crawling (I blame sleep deprivation as it was during her teething episode a couple months ago), I don’t mind that she’s not super mobile. She’ll move when she’s ready and able.

Social Developments:

I think Finley gets sick of me. For this reason, I try to get out of the house and be around other people once a day. Yesterday we met a bunch of moms from my Friday play group for lunch on campus and a walk down State St.
20140423-145254.jpg

Sometimes we make it to the grocery store, Target, or Costco. She loves to look at people, especially other kids.
20140423-145912.jpg

Mental Developments:

There have been so many little things. Finley points or reaches for things she wants. She purposefully drops things on the floor and looks at them. I think she understands “no” – or at least she recognizes the tone of our voices when we say it. She remembers things from days before. For example, one of her books is a touch and feel one with different animals. She knows exactly where to feel when we get to certain pages. Finley gets angry when she doesn’t have what she wants or something is taken away from her (like her water bottle). And finally, she says “dog” and knows what it means. The “g” sound doesn’t exactly come out, but it’s close enough.

Likes:

  • baths
  • reading books (including to herself)
  • pacifiers
  • dolls (loves one at the gym’s daycare)
  • walks in the stroller
  • pulling up the edge of rugs

20140423-145349.jpg

20140423-145442.jpg

20140423-145635.jpg

Dislikes:

  • being in her car seat (a new development – not cool Finley)
  • potatoes
  • having a poopy diaper
  • when she can’t see me

Brody and I have already started thinking about her first birthday. Say WHAT? One is too old. Our baby is not turning one…ever.

Love this girl.

20140423-151216.jpg

5 thoughts on “Finley Update: 10 Months

  1. She’s getting SO big! I can’t even believe it! Thanks for sharing her nursing times, Bennett’s have become much less frequent lately and he’s obsessed with solids…so that’s good to know. =) I’m profoundly jealous of her sleep schedule…do you get engorged overnight? B still wakes up every 3 hours, sometimes more & it’s getting ridiculous. We’re sleep training this week in his crib. I’m so fed up. And don’t worry about her crawling! It’s so hard not to compare, but all babes go at their own pace. I’d trade that sleep schedule for crawling any day. 😉 And honestly it’s scary because he is obsessed with chewing on cords and dumping the dog water! Glad to hear all is well! Miss you, we should chat soon. =)

    • I did get engorged (but didn’t leak) for the first three to four nights but then my body adjusted. How are you going about the sleep training? Is there a post coming up soon about it?
      That’s great that he loves solids. What are his favorites? Is he doing mostly finger foods or purées?
      Miss you too! We are way overdue for a phone call 🙂

  2. She’s getting SO big! I can’t even believe it! Thanks for sharing her nursing times, Bennett’s have become much less frequent lately and he’s obsessed with solids…so that’s good to know. =) I’m profoundly jealous of her sleep schedule…do you get engorged overnight? B still wakes up every 3 hours, sometimes more & it’s getting ridiculous. We’re sleep training this week in his crib. I’m so fed up. Still no teeth either. And don’t worry about her crawling! It’s so hard not to compare, but all babes go at their own pace. I’d trade that sleep schedule for crawling any day. 😉

    I’m also excited to hear she loves the Contigo…I literally got one for McKenzie two days ago, it’s so nice! Maybe I should get him one too.

    Glad to hear all is well, and enjoy the gorgeous weekend! Miss you, we should chat soon. =)

  3. She is so, so cute! And she’s getting so big! It’s so funny how similar she and my niece are and how they hit the same milestones at the same time. (I guess that’s all babies though).

Leave a Reply

