Cincinnati Trip

Good afternoon! Brody, Finley and I had a fantastic weekend, so let’s get started with the recap.

We planned this trip for two reasons: to visit our very good friends, Bridget and JP, and fly with a baby. We’ll be visiting Brody’s dad and stepmom in Switzerland at the end of May, and we wanted to have one flight with Finley under our belts before that.

Our flight was direct from Madison to Cincinnati. Although I wasn’t thrilled that Fin woke up at 5:45 Friday morning, the timing worked out well because the flight left at 8:45am. I nursed Finley as we took off, and she fell asleep in my arms shortly after for a short 30 minute nap.

20140402-140448.jpg

Playing on the floor of the airport

Bridget and JP picked us up, and we spent about ten minutes figuring out the car seat Bridget had borrowed from a friend. Let’s just say carabiners were involved. It was so sweet of Bridget to have borrowed a car seat, pack n play, stroller, and high chair for Finley this weekend. It made traveling so much easier! Thanks Aunt Ridgey!

The five of us went to grab lunch. They suggested Mac’s because it has great pizza and an impressive beer selection. Bridget and I had vanilla porters while the boys drank IPAs. For pizza we had a gyro pizza and one with have pesto primavera and half meatball. Finley ate plain Cheerios and a squeeze pouch of sweet potato and apple. We left with full and happy bellies.

At Bridget and JP’s house, Finley went down for her afternoon nap, and the four of us sat outside in the sun. Yes – sun! It felt soooo good on my skin. Unfortunately, Finley woke up after 41 minutes and had a dirty diaper, so there was no chance of her falling back asleep.

20140402-140748.jpg

Just call her Fin Diesel

After a clean diaper and a nursing session, we jumped back in the car and headed to Rhinegeist, a brewery that Brody’s college buddy works at. Finley ended up falling asleep when we were almost there – apparently she was still tired. It was an odd nap, though, and she was moaning and moving her head back and forth a lot. Bridget stayed in the car with me, and once Finley woke up (short 25 minute nap), we joined the boys in the brewery.

20140402-140547.jpg

Family pic

As you can see, the space is open and very industrial. They have a bar in one corner, and then lots of picnic tables for sitting and ping pong tables for playing. I ordered an IPA, and it ended up being the only beer I drank there (not because it wasn’t good – I just was distracted with Finley and friends). We chatted with friends and even set up a little play area on the floor (read: concrete). Babies in a bar playing on the floor – ha! Finley loved meeting and playing with Corrine, and I was so happy to finally meet her mama, Bridget’s good friend.

20140402-141248.jpg

Babies love breweries

Finley started to feel a little warm in the early evening, and she was acting a little clingy. I put a few things together (lots of drool, moan-y nap, low grade fever) and realized she was feeling the effects of teething. Thank goodness I packed along Baby Tylenol!

Friday night we ate takeout and watched basketball. Finley’s sleep was crappy, so at 10:15pm, I pulled her out of the pack n play and brought her into bed with me. Brody had already volunteered to sleep on the couch, and he was going to stay up to watch (some of) the Michigan State game.

Finley and I slept until 1:15am, when she woke up hot, hungry, and with a dirty diaper. We were awake until 2:45am, when I nursed her (again) to sleep. Luckily, she didn’t wake up until 7:15am, so I kind of got to sleep in. (There are too many “until”s in that paragraph but I’m too lazy to revise it.)

Saturday morning was low key; we ate a small breakfast, Brody ran to Whole Foods with Bridget, we played with Finley, and she took her morning nap.

For lunch, we braved the elements (i.e. rain) and went to Dutch’s for lunch. This was probably my favorite “thing” (because just seeing Bridget and JP is my favorite) we did. Our food took a while, and Finley became grumpy and sleepy. Brody managed to hold her for a 41 minute nap. As she was napping, our food came. Impressive multitasking!

20140402-140654.jpg

Dad of the Year!

I had a prosciutto and mozzarella sandwich with fig jam and arugula. It was amazing! The meat and cheese platter was also delicious. I was like a bottomless pit. Bridget and I ended lunch with a bottle of prosecco.

Back at the house, Bridget’s friend and her little one came over to play. Corrine is a week younger than Finley, and it was cute to see them interact. They even brought a gift – an adorable board book! Thanks guys!

They left and Fin took a short nap in my arms. I’ll never get tired of those.

Saturday night was a big night for Badger fans. I ate a little leftover pizza and vegetable pad thai before the game, and then a brownie sundae with Graeter’s ice cream. It was a good night because Finley slept well in the pack n play and the Badgers won!

Sunday morning, Finley woke up at 6am, so I brought her into bed with us and she slept another hour. We played and ate breakfast. Then, I did something I haven’t done forever – YOGA! Bridget is almost done with her yoga teacher training, so we took a class at her studio. It was incredible, and I was reminded how much I love (and miss) hot yoga. So much sweat.

Once we cleaned up, we all got back in the car and went to meet some of JP and Bridget’s friends for brunch. They have a little girl also, so it was fun to chat with them about parenthood. Cora is seven months and a cutie. The food was awesome; I had an eggs Benedict type meal with artichokes.

20140402-140904.jpg

Funny faces from Dad and Finley

20140402-141009.jpg

Bridget and JP with two pretty ladies

We made it home right in time for Finley’s afternoon nap. The rest of the afternoon was pretty chill: watched basketball (Michigan State played and lost), read Bridget’s copy of Gwenyth Paltrow’s new book, and walked for a few miles.

Our flight home left at 8pm, so we got to the airport around 7pm. We checked our one bag and got through security quickly. I had Fin in the Ergo and wanted to see if they’d let me keep her in it. And they did! Brody grabbed us sandwiches at Bruegger’s Bagels, and we ate at our gate.

The flight back wasn’t the greatest. Finley was way overtired. She moaned, cried, and squirmed. She took a thirty minute nap, and then was awake. We rolled with it and fed her Cheerios to keep her occupied.

As always, our trip to Cincinnati and time with Bridget and JP was lots of fun! Finley is already asking when she can go back. Well, that’s not true because she can’t talk yet, but I am positive she would be saying that if she could.

3 thoughts on “Cincinnati Trip

Leave a Reply

