WIAW: Finley and My Eats

“Hello, little person. How are you today? Is your mood quite terrific, or only okay?”

Who can name that quote?

I’ve doing pretty well, between terrific and okay. We’ve been having a rough time with Finley’s nighttime sleeping (which I’ll address in a future post), and last night I got about seven hours of sleep in three chunks. Compared to other nights, that’s actually pretty decent. During one of the awake times, I worked on this post. Might as well do something productive, right?

Thanks to Jenn at Peas and Crayons for hosting!

Breakfast: brownie baked oatmeal and a fried egg
20140304-221959.jpg

This was such a yummy way to start the day! It came from a Freezer Meals group I’m in now. (I’ll also discuss this in a future post.) This wasn’t a very Paleo/Primal meal, or day for that matter, but at least I snuck in the egg fried in bacon fat for some good protein and fat.

Finley’s breakfast: brownie baked oatmeal and mango
20140304-222150.jpg

This was Finley’s first time eating mango on her own. Back when we first started solids, I gave her mango mashed into a purée, but as you can see I cut it into matchstick size pieces. She loved it! I think she enjoyed the slippery texture as well. Although not a ton of food made it into her mouth, she played with and explored her food.

Snack: chicken sausage
20140304-222113.jpg

A few hours later, I needed something. When I met Mel (who eats Primal) for lunch a week ago, she mentioned eating chicken sausages from Costco. The next time I went, I found them and bought the 24-pack. They’re precooked, so after thirty seconds in the microwave, it was ready to eat.

Lunch: chicken pot pie and (unpictured) strawberries
20140304-222241.jpg

My lunch was also from this month’s Freezer Meal bounty. I made the pot pie for dinner Sunday night and have been enjoying it for lunch every day since. Brody doesn’t eat leftovers, so it’ll last me at least through Thursday. At this point in the day, I realized that every meal of this day would be from Freezer Meals as I had taken the bag of teriyaki chicken out of the freezer yesterday to throw in the Crock Pot for dinner.

Finley’s lunch: turkey meatloaf, steamed broccoli, and mango
20140304-222336.jpg

Finley again didn’t eat a whole lot, but she’s bringing more food to her mouth area. It’s so cool to watch her eat real food like a little person!

Snack: whole milk plain yogurt, shredded unsweetened coconut, blackberries, and almond butter
20140304-222446.jpg

At Woodman’s, blackberries were 79 cents – amazing! I bought two packs and ate both this same way. It made me super excited for all of the summer fruits; I’m sick of oranges, apples, and bananas.

Finley’s snack: puffs and yogurt
20140304-222620.jpg

I hadn’t planned on giving Fin any food, but she was reaching for my yogurt mess bowl. We sat at the table, and she ate a bunch of puffs and a few spoonfuls of her own yogurt. Up until now, she had never eaten any puffs, just played with them, but she was shoveling them into her mouth.

Dinner: teriyaki Crock Pot chicken, white rice, and roasted asparagus

20140305-090408.jpg

Although I cooked the chicken on low for an hour less than suggested, it was still too dry for our liking. The flavor was good, though. The recipe actually calls for pork chops, so I’ll have to try those next time.

Finley’s dinner: cottage cheese, broccoli, mango, puffs, yogurt, apple cranberry purée
*no picture – sorry

This girl loves cheese! She’s been eating pieces of medium cheddar and, like tonight, cottage cheese. I bought the Daisy brand 4% milk fat because it only has four ingredients – thanks again to Mel for this suggestion! Finley went for the cheese first, ate a little mango, briefly touched the broccoli, and ate a few spoonfuls of yogurt and fruit purée.

Post-dinner sweet treat: dark chocolate covered coconut

<a href="http://pintofgoals.files.wordpress.com/2014/03/20140305-090552.jpg”>20140305-090552.jpg

After putting Fin down for the night, I had a small handful of these. I bought this bag from Costco a few weeks ago, and it’s been just the thing I need to satisfy my sweet tooth.

Well that’s a wrap! Hope you enjoyed my eats from yesterday. Have a great Wednesday!

6 thoughts on “WIAW: Finley and My Eats

    • I would recommend listening to the Balanced Bites podcast. I think that and surrounding myself with other Paleo/Primal information is helping me make choices that follow that lifestyle. You should give it a go!

Leave a Reply

