Happy Weekend!

1. Yesterday Finley and I hosted our weekly play group! It was a great time, and about six mamas and their babies showed up. Finley slept through the first 1.5 hours of it, but woke up in a happy mood and played with her friends. Actually, the playing looked more like baby fight club as they’d steal toys from each other or play tug of war with them.

2. My mom is coming to visit for the weekend. She hasn’t seen Fin since the end of December, and I know she’ll be excited with how big and mobile (read: rolling, not crawling) she’s becoming. She also made her amazing sugar cookies – yummy!

3. Speaking of cookies, kind of, Brody and I are considering experimenting with a Paleo or Primal diet, which cookies would not be a part of. Initially he suggested vegan because our friends Bridget and JP are doing a vegan and juice cleanse, but I think Paleo or Primal makes more sense for us. I’ve been doing a little research online learning what each eating lifestyle allows. Really I think the most important part is that we cut out processed foods and gluten. I’ll keep you updated.

4. I made a Paleo friendly meal yesterday: PaleOMG’s spaghetti pizza pie. I really liked it, and ate it for lunch and dinner yesterday. It may be smart for me to find a handful of Paleo/Primal meals before we start. Brody hasn’t tried this one yet, but I think he’ll like it.
Note: I tried linking this recipe but that function in WordPress is not working. Grrrr…

5. My favorite cooking show is The Pioneer Woman. She’s so relaxed, her recipes always look delicious (and not Paleo/Primal – see how this is going to be so hard?), and her life on the ranch is pretty cool. I don’t follow her blog but I do visit to her website for recipes from time to time.

6. Brody got me a FitBit for Christmas, and I love seeing how active I am. On the days I exercise, I almost always get to at least 8,000, and many days (like yesterday,) 10,000 steps. Sometimes, though, I’m pretty lazy. Those days tend to be the ones I don’t leave the house.

7. Finley didn’t have the best night of sleep last night. She went down easily at 7pm, I dream fed her at 9:15pm, and she woke up at 12:45am. I fed her but could tell she was awake. After an hour of rolling around and talking to herself loudly in her crib, I changed her diaper (not poopy) and fed her again (she didn’t eat much before), and she fell asleep while nursing. This was around 2am. She woke up at 4am, and I was tired having been awake for an hour and a half in the middle of the night, so into our bed she came. She slept until 6:45am.

8. Moose and Frankie have had a rough winter. Pre-Finley, I took them to the dog park almost daily. Because of the cold and Finley, they now get a couple ten minute walks a day and maybe one trip to the dog park on the weekend. It’s so sad. We’ve gotten them into daycare every so often but not enough. Spring and summer, and the daily walks with Finley in a stroller, can’t come soon enough for them.

9. Tomorrow is Brody’s birthday. Finley and I are very excited to give him his gifts!

10. I pulled out my baby photo album and a couple of Brody’s baby pictures to see who Finley looks like. What do you think?

20140208-105718.jpg
I’m six months old here, and Brody is five months.

20140208-110712.jpg
This is Finley today right after she spit up all over herself.

Have an awesome day!

8 thoughts on “Happy Weekend!

  1. You can always ask Mel and Tim about Primal…as you prob know, they’re huge fans of it! I tried Paleo last year and it was really difficult for me because you can’t eat cheese, chocolate or beer…yikes! Primal is a happier medium. Good luck! And blog about it because I’d love to attempt it again.

    • I remember when you went Paleo – how long did you do it? I’ve been thinking of picking Mel’s brain about Primal, and I think she has a book about it that maybe she’d let me borrow. I really want to read Wheat Belly – have you heard of it? Not sure when we’ll officially start but I will definitely blog about it 🙂

  2. PaleOMG’s spaghetti pizza pie is to DIE for. I add every veggie in my fridge when I make it – peppers, onions, mushrooms, etc – whatever I have on hand. Also – she does have some ‘sweet treat’ recipes as well. I’ve never tried any of them, so let me know if you find something yummy. I draw the line at gluten-free cookies. What’s the point? 😉 I cannot wait until Moose, Frankie, and Ruger can re-unite as BFFs at the dog park. Fin and Mason need a play date – ASAP.

    • I was wondering if you had made this dish before. What kind of meat do you use? I had hot Italian pork sausage. I’d like to experiment with gluten free baking just because I’m curious. If I make something, I’ll bring over samples 🙂
      Totally agree about play dates for the dogs and babies. Let’s chat or text and make plans!

    • I know – we love them too I think instead of jumping all in, I’m going to slowly transition us to eat less grains. A good “goal” for us now is probably to have one or two Paleo/Primal dinners a week.

Leave a Reply

