WIAW (but actually WIAFriday) and Day in the Life

I’m finally doing a WIAW! It’s been a very long time. Thanks for Jenn for being such a gracious host.

Finley wakes up around 7am. She gets a clean diaper and nurses. Then it’s my turn to eat!

Breakfast: coconut Chobani, banana, and Eat Live Run’s granola
20140205-085209.jpg

That was the last of the granola – sad. It was my second batch, and you better believe I’ll be making another one next week. As I eat, Finley plays in her exer-saucer thing.

We go upstairs to her room to play and read books before nap #1. I enjoy a cup of coffee with a little cream and milk.
20140205-085409.jpg

Squeezing a workout in during this nap is the best chance of it happening. I had picked up a Jillian Michaels’ Last Chance DVD from the library, so I give it a whirl – the workout I choose is a good one!
20140205-085453.jpg

I take a bird bath (shower without washing my hair) just as Finley wakes up. After feeding her, she plays on the family room floor as I Swiffer our wood floors.

Now it’s lunch time. We’re eating a little early because I didn’t have a morning snack and we have errands to run before nap #2. Finley eats avocado, egg yolks mixed with plain whole milk yogurt, and pear.
20140205-085537.jpg

Lunch: two egg scramble with salsa and cheddar cheese, quarter of an avocado, two pieces of wheat toast, and some canned pineapple

Finley and I pack up for an afternoon away from the house. Our adventures begin with a Woodman’s run.
20140205-085623.jpg

I quickly drop the groceries off at home while Fin stays in the car, and then we take off for a coffee shop. I’ve timed it so that Finley’s nap #2 will happen in the car. She took a good morning nap, so I’m okay if her other nap(s) isn’t as great. As expected, she sleeps on the drive to the coffee shop and wakes up as I park.

Friday afternoons we go to a play group formed from the Mother Baby Hour we attended. I really like the moms, and Finley likes looking at the other babies and sharing toys.
20140205-085843.jpg

This was also the time I needed a snack.

Snack: chai latte, kombucha, and an unpictured banana
20140205-085735.jpg

We stayed at play group until 4pm and then headed home. Once again, I timed it so Fin would take another cat nap in the car.

Surprise, surprise – I’m hungry again. As I eat, I prep an apple for Finley for the next few meals.

Snack: apple and peanut butter
20140205-085945.jpg

Brody gets home around 5:30pm, and his dad and stepmom arrive soon after. We all watch as Finley eats her dinner. Her grandpa and step-grandma try to hold her, but she gets pouty. Like many babies, she isn’t always okay being held by new people. I’m hoping she warms up to them before they leave.

After a quick bath and nursing session, I put Fin down for the night. She falls asleep within five minutes a little after 7pm.

I join everyone downstairs and stuff my face with three pieces of pizza. This is one more than I normally eat, and in the end, a mistake. I also drink half a bottle of wine.

Dinner: Salvatore’s pizza and red wine
20140205-090721.jpg

My father-in-law and his wife drive back to their hotel; they’ve been awake for almost 24 hours (they live in Switzerland). Brody and I plop on the couch and watch The West Wing. I fall asleep during the second episode (we’re already in season seven!) – wine does that to me.

It was a good day: a workout, errands, friends, good food, and family.

8 thoughts on “WIAW (but actually WIAFriday) and Day in the Life

  1. YUM! Love the granola recipe. Did you use amaranth? It says you can omit it. (Just wondering if you used it and where you found it.)

    • I didn’t use it, but I bet you could find it at Woodman’s – I’ll have to look next time I’m there. I added an extra 1/3 cup of the steel cut oats instead. It’s a winner!

    • Thanks! She’s a fun little girl to hang out with every day, and even the busy, hectic days are great – especially when they end with a yummy dinner. Have a great Wednesday 🙂

    • I love that one too, but it’s not my husband’s thing so we don’t get it (I’ve had it with friends). We’re so lucky to have such a fabulous pizza place in town! Do you know you can buy their dough for $3?

    • I can’t imagine showing our house and working around a baby’s sleeping! Good thing she likes her car seat 🙂 How long will she nap in the car? Most of the time, Finley only sleeps for 30ish minutes.

Leave a Reply

