Wine and Recipe: Crock Pot Chicken

Oh hey! Long time no chat (other than the very quick Finley Photo Dump post from yesterday). I didn’t plan on taking such a long break from posting, but it happened. I’ve had ideas for posts floating around in my brain for the last few weeks, but actually writing them out has been pushed aside. I swear “Blog post” has been on my daily to-do list for a while now. This is one I’m super excited to share because I think it may be useful to some of you!

Last month’s Wine and Recipe was a winner. Some may even say “Winner winner chicken dinner!” Ha! Such a bad joke but so appropriate. Mel hosted, and as a working and pregnant mama (her daughter is 19 months and she’s due in March), time is precious. Plus, using a Crock Pot is so dang easy!

I have to admit, I wasn’t overly psyched for this Wine and Recipe initially. I was worried all the dishes would be too similar. Was I wrong! The food was amazing, and I’ve already made four of the recipes. Brody has also been a fan, which has been a welcome surprise. He’s not a huge fan of the Crock Pot (texture issue and the infamous Crock Pot smell). But, he’s gobbled all of these up with a smile on his face. So without further ado, the recipes!

Crock Pot Thai Chicken
This was my contribution, and according to Mel’s husband (who sampled all of the dishes), mine took first place for the night. Considering there are THREE ingredients, one of them being the chicken, I’d say that’s pretty awesome. There are more ingredients if you make the rice…which I highly recommend you do. Instead of TJ’s peanut vinegarette, I used a peanut dipping sauce by Bankok. Love this dish! The link above brings you to Iowa Girl Eats, the creator of this yummy concoction.

Enchilada Crock Pot Chicken
This one is also way easy and has a short list of ingredients. We ate this chicken deliciousness, courtesy of Nicole, on sliced baguette rounds and tortilla chips. When I made it a week after W&R, I also ended up eating it in a whole wheat wrap. There’s a container of it in my freezer, and I’m hoping it thaws well for a future quick appetizer.

Ingredients:
-2 lbs. boneless skinless chicken thighs
-10 oz. can red enchilada sauce
-2 8 oz. blocks of cream cheese (I used reduced fat)
-4 cups Monetary jack cheese

Cook on low for 4-6 hours.

Crock Pot Buffalo Chicken
Everyone loves buffalo sauce, right? Another easy-peasy recipe for you. Thanks, Amber!

Ingredients:
-3 lb. bag frozen chicken breasts
-1 packet ranch dip powder
-1 bottle of Frank’s hot sauce

Place frozen chicken, ranch powder, and Frank’s hot sauce in the Crock Pot and cook on low for 10 hours. Shred chicken and serve with crumbled bleu cheese, chopped celery, and lettuce leaves.

Crock Pot Chicken Bacon Ranch Pasta
Kathy likes bacon. How can you go wrong with bacon? This is a heavy dish, but in a good way – definite comfort food. Unlike the buffalo chicken recipe, this is not one you’d make in the summer. This is a winter dish all the way. I made it for Brody and I the week after W&R, and we both agreed it’d be nice with some peas mixed in at the end for some vegetables and pops of sweetness.

Ingredients:
-3 cloves of garlic
-1 package of ranch dressing mix
-1 10.75 oz. can condensed cream of chicken soup
-1 cup Greek yogurt (or sour cream)
-1 lb. boneless skinless chicken breasts
-1/2 cup of bacon
-3 cups of pasta

Spray inside of Crock Pot. Cook and chop bacon. Add chicken breasts. Mix together garlic, ranch dressing mix, cream of chicken soup, Greek yogurt, and bacon in a small bowl. Pour mixture over chicken. Cook on high for 3.5 hours or low for 6-7 hours. When chicken is done, cook pasta and mix into chicken.

Spicy Ginger Chicken
Laura has this recipe in her regular rotation, and with three boys, she’s got lots of mouths to feed and keep happy. We love ginger in our house, so I knew I’d be making this one. It was a great, healthy, and surprisingly light dish.

Ingredients:
-2.5-3 lbs. drumsticks and/or boneless, skinless thighs
-2 14.5 oz. cans diced tomatoes
-2 tbs. quick cooking tapioca
-1 tbs. grated fresh ginger
-1 tbs. fresh chopped cilantro or parsley
-4 cloves of garlic, minced
-2 tsp. packed brown sugar
-1/2 tsp. salt
-1/2 tsp. crushed red pepper

Place chicken in Crock Pot. Drain tomatoes, reserving juice from one can. In a medium bowl, combines tomatoes and reserved juice, tapioca, ginger, cilantro/parsley, garlic, brown sugar, salt and crushed red pepper. Pour suave over chicken and cook on low for 6-7 hours or high for 3-3.5 hours. Serve chicken over couscous or rice.

Chicken Risotto
I know what you’re thinking: Busy moms don’t have time for risotto! You’re right. We don’t. This faux risotto won’t fool anyone, but it’s still a great meal. Thanks for sharing this one Emily!

Ingredients:
-1 1/4 lbs. chicken breasts, cut into 3/4 inch cubes
-1/2 cup finely chopped onion
-1/2 cup shredded carrot
-1 clove of garlic, finely chopped
-2 cups of water
-2 cups uncooked instant white rice
-2 tbs. butter (which Emily actually didn’t include)
-1 10.75 oz. can of cream of chicken soup
-1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese

Mix chicken, onion, carrot, garlic and water in Crock Pot and cook on low for 6-7 hours. Stir in rice and butter. Increase heat to high, cover, and cook for 5 minutes until rice is tender. Stir in soup and cheese. Cover and cook for 10-15 minutes.

I have a few more to share, but I think I’ll do a part two post to share those. It’s almost 9pm, and I need to dream feed the little lady before I turn in for the night. I really hope you try one, two, or all of these amazing chicken recipes! We have another Wine and Recipe next week already, and the theme is pizza. I’m so excited! I like food way too much.

6 thoughts on “Wine and Recipe: Crock Pot Chicken

Leave a Reply

