Meals of the Week [9/16 – 9/22]

Now that I’m staying home full time and we don’t have my income, we’re trying to be smarter with money. One way we can do that is with meal planning and avoid falling into the takeout trap from places like Chipotle, Panera, or Salvatore’s.

Brody and I did our weekly trip to Woodman’s (at probably the worst time ever) yesterday, and I am very excited for our meals this week.

Burgers on the Grill
Brody makes a mean burger, and I don’t see us grilling much anymore with fall approaching. He puts lots of spices, Worcestershire sauce, and other lovelies to doctor up the ground chuck. Nestled between a toasted kaiser roll with lettuce, tomato, mayo, and ketchup, it’ll be a farewell to summer meal. On the side, we’ll probably have Bush’s baked beans.

Enchiladas
Tacos are a staple at our house, so it’s nice to mix it up with something a little different. I use ground beef (from Jacobson Brothers), cheddar cheese, and red enchilada sauce. I keep it simple.

Chicken Florentine Pasta
While Brody and Finley slept yesterday morning, I caught an episode of The Pioneer Woman featuring 16 minute meals. While I’m sure what takes her 16 minutes will take me 32, I was intrigued by this pasta recipe. Plus I’d get to use up all of the tomatoes from my plant.

Beef with Snow Peas
This was another 16 minute meal by Ree, and I knew Brody would be on board with this one. It uses flank steak, which I have never used in a stir fry. We don’t get any beef products from Woodman’s, so I’ll have to swing by Costco this week to pick up the two-packs they have of flank steak.

Banana Muffins
I’ll probably be the only one who eats these, and they will be great for breakfasts. I’ve been into muffins lately instead of toast: sweet potato muffins, zucchini muffins, and now banana muffins. My plans were to make pumpkin muffins (those will happen late next week), but Woodman’s had bags of overly ripe bananas for 99 cents, and I knew I had a banana muffin recipe in my binder that I had never tried. These aren’t super healthy, but it’s also not like eating dessert for breakfast. Just to make sure they were okay, I tested one. Yup, they’re okay. Actually, pretty perfect: chewy outside and soft inside. I did omit the nuts because I spread copious amounts of peanut butter on them anyways.

Questions:
Do you like grocery shopping and meal planning?
What are you making this week that you’re excited about?

15 thoughts on “Meals of the Week [9/16 – 9/22]

  1. I need to meal plan more. All too often I fall back onto cereal or buttered noodles. Lol, I’m so bad at this. Also, I’m going to email you an amazing muffin recipe that my mother-in-law makes. SO good. =) See ya tomorrow at Mother/Baby hour!

    • I’m sure making meals is hard with just you and McKenzie – you probably end up with so much leftover! I’ve heard of couples and families doing meal shares where they take turns cooking and sharing. It’d be most convenient if it was a neighbor but I think it’s such a good idea!
      Thank you again for the apple muffin recipe – I can’t wait to try it πŸ™‚

  2. I’m the worst at meal planning, but literally this week I made an effort to plan out the next 5 days. Going well so far Monday: Leftovers! I’m such a good home-maker! I did check out that whole foods app carrots n cake was talking about, and it is really cool you should check it out, especially if you like to shop sales only there!

    • I haven’t read her post about that yet but it sounds cool from your description. Is there a Whole Foods close to you guys? Ours is in Madison and I rarely go because it’s farther away and it’s so expensive. But if I buy stuff on sale… I do love going because of all the samples πŸ™‚

      • Yeah its only about 10 minutes from the house. I don’t typically shop there cause its pricey and I always have to go somewhere else to finish off the rest of the list, but I do like them!

  3. Sunday I made baked chicken injected with the new Frenches brand flavor injectors (free with coups) Caribbean jerk flavor (pretty tasty!) and acorn squash (not quite amazing yet too early in season) and your famous pumpkin muffins with dark chocolate chips. Yum! I even shared with co-workers πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

