Finley’s Top Ten Newborn Must Haves

Life with a newborn is quite an adventure. Fortunately, there are some things that make day to day living a little easier and better. If Finley could talk, type, or do much more than eat, poop, cry, and look freaking adorable, this is what she’d say were her top ten must haves.

1. Fisher Price Snuggabunny Swing
This is kind of two in one because up until yesterday, we weren’t using the swing a ton. Finley has taken a handful of naps in it but never spent much awake time in it. While searching for information about babies and sleeping (which has become somewhat of an obsession for me), I found this blog, and specifically, this post. Following the step-by-step guide, Finley went down for two naps and slept in her swing for the whole night (with two nighttime feedings). Instead of me staying awake to help her fall back into a deep sleep, she went right back into her swing after both feedings and fell asleep almost immediately.
20130724-124106.jpg

As I type this she is sleeping in her swing. Amazingly, she is slightly awake when I put her in it, but with all of the techniques going on, she can’t help but fall asleep within minutes.

2. Mam Pacifiers
Currently these are Finley’s favorite pacifiers. They sell them everywhere (the link above is for Amazon but I think I registered for these at Babies R Us). I like that there’s not a right way to put them in (i.e. the design can be the right way or upside down). We tried the Avent soothies but she wasn’t into them yet. I’ll have to try them again because I bought this for when she’s a little older. Yet another shout out goes to Brad and Jess for the suggestion.

3. Aden and Anais swaddle blankets
We received eleven of these blankets, three of which are made from bamboo, and they are fantastic. Finley gets swaddles in them (duh), but they also make a perfect car seat cover for walks and sunny car rides, spit up towels, and car seat blankets.

4. BOB Stroller
Brody’s dad, whose name is Bob, bought us this stroller. It is fantastic, and we’ve already gotten a lot of use out of it. It handles really well for walks around the neighborhood and on bumpy terrain at the dog park, and I can’t wait to run with it (not for a while though). It folds up pretty easily but does take up a bit of space still. Finley often falls asleep while being walked, so she’s a big fan of this piece of baby equipment.

5. Target’s Gillian O’Malley nursing tanks
While these are more for me, they also make Finley happy because of their quickness in providing her source of food. I have two in black, one in gray, and another gray one in a different style. I wear them during the day and at night. Good thing I don’t mind doing laundry every other day.

6. Best Bottoms cloth diapers
20130724-124530.jpg

Speaking of laundry, I’ve been doing a load of cloth diapers every two to three days. Finley wears these during the day and disposables at night. The great thing about cloth diapers is that they grow with your baby. The Best Bottoms have lots of snaps to resize the diapers. One reason Finley loves these is that they don’t (or rarely) give babies diaper rash.

7. Contigo water bottle
Again, while this isn’t directly used by Finley, she benefits from it. Breastfeeding is hard work on your body and requires extra calories and hydration. I purchased a set of three Contigo water bottles from Costco many months ago, and now more than ever, I make sure I’m drinking water. At night, I fill up one to have on my night stand and one to keep in the nursery for nighttime feedings. Also next to my water bottle is some energy trail mix (dried edamame, cranberries, almonds, and pumpkin seeds) from Costco.
20130724-124710.jpg

A girl gets hungry at 2am!

8. Total Baby app
I downloaded this app while we were all still in the hospital but really didn’t start to use it until last week. It was totally worth the $4! It helps me keep track of everything Finley-related: feedings (including which side and for how long), diaper changes, naps, and baths. It has a timer option for all of those – I use that every time I nurse her. I believe my friend Tina also uses this app.

9. White noise “machines”
This girl LOVES herself some white noise. She is partial to the water sounds. We use the Relax Melodies app for our phones and iPad, the Sleep Sheep, and the Munchkin Nursery Projector and Sound System. They’re all great and function at different times and places throughout the day.

10. An amazing family
20130724-124634.jpg

Okay, so this one is super cheesy, but I know Finley would say this. Besides having parents who love her so very much, she has two grandmas and one step-grandma, one grandpa, two aunts, one soon-to-be uncle, and even great-grandparents. They have showered her with their presence…
20130724-124220.jpg

and beautiful gifts.

20130724-124321.jpg

As Finley gets older, I’m guessing her likes will change, and when that happens, we’ll have another “must haves” post. Until then, I managed to capture one of Finley’s first smiles at me.
20130724-124921.jpg

See?!?! She’s growing up so quickly.

Have a wonderful Wednesday!

Questions:

What were the must haves in your life with a newborn?

What kind of gifts do you like to give soon-to-be parents?

5 thoughts on “Finley’s Top Ten Newborn Must Haves

  1. What a little smile, she’s so darn cute! All this is so good to know! Maybe we could have a date to Costco and you could show me where that trail mix is. =) And that little painting is amazing! Finley is a lucky little lady. =)

    • A Costco outing would be great! I need a few things anyways. I’ll text you 🙂
      Isn’t that painting so cool? She had one made for a friend’s son also – I’ll have to look at the back to share the company’s name.

  2. I totally agree on the need for white noise and swaddle blankets – though we like the halo sleep sacks and swaddleme Velcro blankets. Emma slept in her swing until we bought her a Fisher Price Rock n Play Sleeper, which was the best money we spent. What a lifesaver!

Leave a Reply

