What To Do When You’re Overdue

Only about 5% of babies are born on their due dates, so it really shouldn’t come as a shock that mine has come and gone.

Physically, I’m doing good. I’ve been staying quite active (two trips to the dog park yesterday = four miles of walking) and did just over an hour of cardio (treadmill walking and elliptical) at the gym this morning.

Mentally…well, not horrible but not as good. I like to be busy and have stuff to do. As much as I complain about the grading that comes along with the school year, I love working. Typically by this point in the summer, I have started babysitting. Instead I’m at home, waiting…

What is an overdue pregnant lady to do when she’s not working and at home waiting for her life to drastically change?

Watch TLC, specifically A Baby Story, Long Island Medium, and What Not to Wear
20130612-142428.jpg

source
Some tears have been shed with those first two shows.

Read a good book
20130612-142217.jpg

I am loving Gone Girl – I just got to a really good spot and a big twist in the story.

Make lists of mundane (and maybe important) things to do
20130612-141848.jpg

Doesn’t it feel productive to cross things off, even if it’s “clean coffee maker”?

Exercise
20130612-141815.jpg

Not only is exercise good for you and the baby, but some say it may help get labor going.

Meet up with friends
20130612-141931.jpg

Yesterday, I met up with Nicole and her daughter at Orange Leaf – so good to see her again! Oh ya – and I have a frequent buyer card now. So dangerous. On Monday, I met my friend Jeana and her 7 week old daughter Avery at Starbucks.

Check Gmail, Facebook, Feedly, and Instagram (too often)
20130612-142142.jpg

Been doing WAY too much checking of social media lately.

People keep saying things like “Enjoy these last few quiet days.” I am trying, but when I have no idea what it’s going to be like with a newborn, how can I understand?

At least the dogs like having me at home during the day. They follow me around, get to go outside more (including the park), and take selfies with me.
20130612-141739.jpg

Question:
Any productive or completely mundane tasks I should add to my to-do list?

6 thoughts on “What To Do When You’re Overdue

    • Great idea! I have been painting my own toenails (which the nurse who checks me in every week seems very impressed by), but the pampering of a pedicure sounds lovely.

    • Yah for lists! I have recently started using Wunderlist on my phone, mainly for my grocery list and other shopping stuff. At home and work, though, I also like good ol’ paper and pen.
      I hope my baby is easy 🙂

    • I saw that on Instagram! So exciting 🙂 Congrats Aunt Megan!
      I finished Gone Girl yesterday and really liked it – unlike anything (mainly due to the characters) I had ever read.

Leave a Reply

