Pregnancy Update: Week 39

Hey, folks! I’m still here…still pregnant. Am I ready to have this baby? Yes. But am I happy that she’s holding out for exams to be done? Hell yes. Two more days, Baby – that’s all I ask.

How far along? 39 weeks and 2 days.
20130605-071323.jpg

Cheesy selfie of me drinking Amazing Grass
20130605-071434.jpg

More normal pic but with no makeup

Baby’s size? A watermelon. Really?!?! Do I look like I swallowed a watermelon? So cliche. She’s 19-21 inches and 6.2-9.2lbs.

Weight gained? Between 20-25 lbs. At last week’s appointment, my doctor said I had only gained a pound in the last three weeks. A student asked how much I had gained. When I told her (and the other few students at her table) 25lbs but that about 4lbs of it was extra blood, their faces were priceless. I’d like to think I may have just prevented at least one teen pregnancy.

Stretch marks? None. Wahoo!

Sleep? I’m up a lot more often, and lucky if I am out for more than three hours at a time. Strangely enough, I’m not tired at all during the day and have been going to bed around 10pm. While I’m tired, I’m not exhausted. Is my body prepping itself for life with a newborn?

Best moment(s) this week? Brody and I celebrated our five year wedding anniversary on Friday! How quickly time goes by. I am one lucky lady to have such an incredible husband and best friend. To honor our marriage and enjoy some alone time, we headed to Nostrano for a nice dinner together.
20130605-072828.jpg

Nostrano’s menu
I failed to take any pictures besides this one – boo. However you can see the entree options – all sounded amazing. Brody had the Brodetto and I had the Braised Pancetta. Holy yum! For dessert we shared the Affogato: caramel gelato, espresso poured over it, sprinkled with sea salt, and served with three mini sugar-coated donuts. This dessert is on my top 50 food and drink items in Madison (which I am still adding to and will post eventually).

Miss anything? The same stuff, but I would like to share what I WON’T miss: my hair. It is freakin’ incredible! So thick and so much of it. It’ll be a sad day when it starts to fall out a couple months after birth. Brody suggested I get on Rogaine now.

Looking forward to? Meeting our baby and being done with school (and not “working” again until the end of January).

Movement? My belly is tight! She is squeezed in there, so there’s not a lot of wiggle room. I still feel her throughout the day, though – typically under my left rib cage where her feet and knees are.

Food cravings? Iced coffee, sugar (Sunday was a bad day for this – chocolate covered acai berries, homemade chocolate chip and oatmeal raisin cookies, ice cream), and butter and honey on toast.

Anything making you queasy or sick? Chicken breasts still gross me out. I had a chicken gyro last week, and although I ate it, it was mainly because of the tzaziki sauce.

Exercise? Walking is all I do now. Jena and I did three laps at the park on Monday (over two miles), and that felt great. I am looking forward to running again eventually.

Gender? Girl.

Labor signs? I had lots of Braxton Hicks on Saturday. Then yesterday morning I felt what I believe were two real contractions; they felt more like period cramps and were low. I’ve also had a lower back ache since Monday. I think my body is getting ready!

Symptoms? “Watermelon” belly, some swelling in the feet, and then obviously the labor signs I just described.

Belly button in or out? Out. Also, I heard your belly button turns black after as it heals and goes back to normal. Is this true or did I misunderstand someone who was talking about the baby’s belly button?

Wedding rings on or off Off at night and on during the day.

Because a lot of my posts have been baby-centered recently, I’ll leave you with pics of Moose and Frankie that I took this morning. They are so excited to be big brothers!

20130605-081951.jpg

20130605-082049.jpg

Happy Hump Day!

7 thoughts on “Pregnancy Update: Week 39

  1. Oh, you’re almost there! I love your attitude – still positive and upbeat but READY to have a baby. After you deliver, you’re going to look in the mirror and think, “Oh my goodness – I’m so skinny!” Best feeling ever. Besides, you know, becoming a mother πŸ˜‰ My belly button never popped but the baby’s cord does turn black before it comes off.

  2. Yay! I was almost going to text you and see how you were doing! Good luck with the end of school. Those period-crampy things are definitely contractions…that’s what I had last weekend. And no, my belly button never turned black (the baby’s does), but I guess mine never popped out either. Best of luck if we don’t hear from you before Baby F comes! I’m still going crazy trying to guess her name. πŸ˜‰

    • You’re so sweet! I am so happy she is waiting until school is done. I have a few hours of grading tomorrow morning and then I am done πŸ™‚ Baby F will be here soon and ready for her photo shoot!

  3. Glad she waited too! Can’t wait to meet her! And how come I’m just hearing of this baby F! Hmmm what names start with F…
    Tell her to hurry up! πŸ™‚ this weekend would be great… Haha. I’ll be patient for her πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

