Baby Stuff, Baking, and Time with Friends

First of all, THANK YOU to everyone who shared some words of wisdom with me and answered my questions. I took much of your advice:
-Huggies sensitive wipes (448 count) were purchased.
-I picked out three nursing tanks from Target: two of these (same ones Liz likes) and one of these.
-We bought two more crib sheets; they were only $9.99, and since the bed converts to a toddler’s, I’m sure they’ll get used eventually.
-More disposable diapers (Pampers Swaddlers most likely) are needed. It sounds like the poops early on are so nasty, we won’t want to deal with cleaning the cloth diaper inserts.
-I may freeze some meals, or maybe double up on some recipes I make in these next few weeks that freeze well. I also want to bake a couple dozen healthy muffins for breakfast.

I had a very lovely weekend and did a decent job taking photos. Weekend recap starting…now.

Brody’s coworkers had a little get-together on Friday night to celebrate our upcoming bundle of joy. It was super low-key and basically a good reason to have everyone hang out, eat good food, and drink.
20130519-172848.jpg

Kids were welcome, so obviously O-Dub (aka Owen, who is 6.5 months!) attended the soirée. He is such a happy, chill baby – plus he apparently likes the Blackhawks and Brody.

After grading for a couple hours Saturday morning, Brody and I took the dogs to the park. For how nice it was (besides the humidity), it was a quiet walk. The pups were stinky after two days at daycare this week, three trips to the dog park, and just general dog scent. They both got baths and a brushing, and now we have clean, soft puppies.

20130519-172905.jpg
Moose’s hair/fur doesn’t dry well; Brody gave the hair dryer a shot. Moose was kind of into it, but it would’ve taken at least twenty minutes to dry him completely.

Saturday afternoon included some intense nesting (hanging of baby clothes, putting away of blankets and odds and ends, and acquiring of more baby clothes), grocery shopping, dropping off of cardboard boxes at the dump (they were taking over the garage), and some baking.

The large vat of strawberries from Costco stares at me every time I open the fridge, and as much as I love them, the acidity gets to me. I headed to Smitten Kitchen for some meal planning and found this recipe.

20130519-172925.jpg
Considering I have never made biscuits before and don’t really know what it means to overwork dough, I was quite impressed with myself. They are the best the day off, and rather than eat all eleven myself, I gave two to a neighbor (who gave me the baby clothes) and two to the couple we met for dinner later that night.

Speaking of dinner, our jam-packed day ended with a casual evening out at Ale Asylum with our friends Andrew and Melissa. I ordered the spicy black bean burger, and it was so good. The chipotle mayo played a key role in the burger’s success. We luckily landed a table outside and stayed until 9:30pm chatting. Brody and I recognize it may be a little bit more difficult to see our friends and enjoy dinners out in a few weeks, so we’re taking advantage of these opportunities now.

My interest in baking and strawberries continued into Sunday when I made waffles topped with strawberries (duh), unsweetened coconut, and real maple syrup.

20130519-172946.jpg
I made one for Brody too, but he ran five miles outside and was a sweaty mess when he got done as it was (and still is) very humid. The smell of baked dough wasn’t very appealing – it looks like breakfast is already made for me tomorrow!

While browsing Smitten Kitchen’s blog, I had also found this vegetable-heavy recipe. Many of her recipes are more involved (ingredient and skill-wise) than I typically go for. However, I can handle chopping veggies. To be honest, I find cutting up fruit and veggies very relaxing. Meat? That’s another story.

20130519-173134.jpg
To appease my husband, I omitted the kalamata olives and will add them to my own servings. Isn’t it so pretty? It’s going to taste delicious next to chicken sausages on the grill. Also, you may notice there is feta cheese in this salad. It is made from pasteurized milk, so I feel safe consuming this soft cheese.

Now I sit here with Brody, on our back patio, with our feet up, waiting for the chicken sausages to be put on the grill.
20130519-184105.jpg

Not a bad way to end a great weekend.

9 thoughts on “Baby Stuff, Baking, and Time with Friends

  1. hey anjay!! i don’t have any babes of my own…. yet, but soon! and I wanted to share some suggestions/recommendations that I have received that sound helpful…. 🙂
    – This crib sheet was suggested for ease of changing esp during the night time hours:
    http://www.toysrus.com/buy/top-baby-registry-items/nursery/ultimate-crib-sheet-white-94400-3763008
    – Bamboo swaddling blankets by http://www.adenandanais.com/
    – Are you planning on breast pumping (this might be too personal of a question….) but I’ve been told by multiple mothers that the Medela Freestyle pump is the way to go…. pricey but worth the $$$.
    – Having many Gerber/Carter onesies in all different sizes and styles
    – disposable diapers for at least the first 6-8 weeks and then trying cloth diapers (if that is something you want to try) and then I was told the bum genius All-in-one One-size with snaps is the way to go….. I know there are LOTS of brands and it really comes down to what works for you (obv!)

    Such an exciting time!!! Yay!!

    • Hey Stina! Hope your shower was fun – I told Bridget she should post some pics of it on her blog, with your approval or course 🙂

      Thanks so much for the advice!
      We have a ton of blankets (people LOVE giving them apparently), including eight Aden and Anais swaddle blankets. I hope they work as well as everyone says they do. Plus, they seem like they’d be great for other things (stroller/carseat cover, blanket, burp cloth, etc.). Plus they are adorable.
      I am planning on breast feeding and pumping. My health provider gives me an electric Medela pump if I go to all of my appointments and my 6 week post partum. Pretty sweet, right? I had to sign up for the program, but it’s easy because I was planning on going to everything anyways. I really would like to pump before that, though, because I want Brody to be able to feed her too.
      For newborn disposable diapers we ended up getting the Pampers Swaddlers and plan to use those for the first two weeks. After that we bought the Best Bottoms brand for cloth.

      Happy Memorial Day weekend!!!!

  2. Angie, so I recently bought the Gillian&O’Mally, (a Target brand) nursing bras. The 1st set I bough was leaving red marks on my back, so I assumed they were too small. I went back and bout the next size up and have the same problem. I found the the top of the bra (between the shoulder blades) is really high. It just doesnt lay right. Though they look comfy, I would not recommend this brand.

    • Oh no! That sucks that they didn’t fit right. I wish I could try them on to see if I have the same issue. Unfortunately, I already took off the tags and washed them 😦 I bought two that were the spaghetti strap kind (likely the ones you are talking about) and one with thick straps and a v-neck. Where did you end up getting new nursing tanks from?
      Thanks for the heads up! Can’t week to meet Noah!

    • Wait – I just reread your comment and you said nursing bras not nursing tanks. Oops! I haven’t even considered nursing bras – I think I’ll wait until a little after once I’ve gotten to a more true size. I’ll make a metal note to avoid Target. To be honest, I might suck it up, pay a little more, and buy some from Happy Bambino.

Leave a Reply

