Pregnancy Update: Week 34

It’s time for an update!

How far along? Today marks the beginning of week 34. According to the daily pregnancy journal I read aloud before bed, if she was born now, she’d be fully functioning. Don’t get any ideas Little Girl – you got to hold on until at least June 6 (last day of school for final exams).
20130430-212618.jpg

No side shot this week. My belly is the bigger one on the left.

Baby’s size? She’s about the size of a cantaloupe, about 4 3/4 lbs, and 18 inches long.

Weight gained? I haven’t weighed myself for over a week. I would guess I’m getting close to 20 lbs.

Stretch marks? Nope!

Sleep? Ehh…not great. I still wake up often, and while I’m not uncomfortable, I can’t get comfortable. Does that make sense?

Best moment(s) this week?
1. Last night at our baby classes, an anesthesiologist came to share information and answer questions. Both Brody and I found it very helpful. At this point, I hadn’t really committed to going drug-free, which tells me that it’s not something I want to shoot for. I’d like to keep an open mind, though, because I realize I may not be able to get an epidural for whatever reason.
2. My birthday was a great “moment,” including the prenatal massage.
3. Grilling out on Sunday night and then eating outside.

Miss anything? Sleeping well (which I realize will not happen again for a long time), red wine, and not having to pee every hour (especially in the morning).

Looking forward to? My last baby shower is Sunday, and this is the one with friends and family. My BFF from high school who lives in Iowa is coming, and I’m super excited to see her.

Movement? All the time! My doctor said her head is still down, and I think her butt and hips are under my right ribs and her knees and feet are under my left ribs.

Food cravings? Corn Chex, artichokes, and Sassy Cow 1% milk.

Anything making you queasy or sick? I’ve been feeling faint quite often. When I mentioned it to my doctor, she said that it’s my lower blood pressure. Mine is a little lower than normal, so when I stand still for a while, I start to feel woozy. As I mentioned in my last post, I think I have supine hypotensive syndrome. When I lie on my back or even at an incline, I start to feel nauseous, anxious, and panicky (similar to symptoms of going into shock). The anesthesiologist said that the major arteries (or veins) are blocked from the weight of the baby and uterus, and the heart can’t reload to pump more blood (or something like that). This explains why I freaked out during the MRI, at the dentist, and while getting a massage (on back on an incline).

Exercise? Walks at the dog park, intervals on the elliptical, and an occasional cardio class at the gym. Not too bad for the belly I’ve got on me.

Gender? Girl.

Labor signs? None really – some minor Braxton Hicks though.

Symptoms? Linea nigra, special varicose veins, some varicose veins on the backs of my legs, low blood pressure, and frequent urination. Nothing too horrible.

Belly button in or out? Basically flat.

Wedding rings on or off? On.

Other pregnancy/baby news:
-Brody ordered prints from Etsy and had them made on canvases. They look amazing above the crib!
20130430-212532.jpg

The mobile has shipped and should arrive any day.
20130430-212730.jpg

It’s all coming together.

-My friend from high school, Jeana, had her daughter, Avery, last Monday. A C-section was scheduled for Friday, but her water broke Monday morning. I can’t wait to have play dates with our daughters this summer!

-I had a female student tell me I look huge last week. Awesome. Thanks. Teenagers don’t always have filters.

That’s all for today. Hope you had a good Tuesday!

6 thoughts on “Pregnancy Update: Week 34

  1. Yay baby shower! I can’t wait! 🙂 I also can’t wait to see everyone! I haven’t seen most of your friends since the wedding!! Moms really excited too 🙂

Leave a Reply

