Hey Shorty, It’s Your Birthday

Yesterday I turned the big 3-0.

Some people freak out over this milestone, but it didn’t bother me at all. It was actually a lovely day from start to finish.

It started with participating in the Crazylegs two-mile walk with my friend Jena. We made shirts – people loved them!
20130428-143639.jpg

We walked along with my former coworker Brad and his wife Jess. They had their baby girl, Hadley, about two and a half months ago. The four of us talked baby stuff (I love hearing people’s birth stories) while Hadley slept.
20130428-143717.jpg

We made out way into Camp Randall and posed at the finish line. Both of us got a wee but jealous of all of the red-faced runners. I miss the adrenaline, exhaustion, and sweat of finishing a good run. This summer, hopefully, I’ll be back at it.

It’s crazy (no pun intended) that a year ago I ran 14 miles, with the last five being the Crazylegs race. How things can change in a year!

At 1pm, I scheduled a prenatal massage at The Wellness Room – happy birthday to myself. She didn’t have a table for me to lie on my stomach, but it still felt amazing. Because of my self-diagnosed supine hypotensive syndrome (have I mentioned this before?), I was unable to stay on my back the whole time, even at an angle. I still felt super relaxed afterwards as obvious by my manly voice for the next couple hours.

Up until this point Brody had been absent from my birthday due to a hockey tournament. He had a game at 4:30pm, so I got to the rink and watched his team shut out the other team, 9-0. Brody scored one goal (which I missed because I was in the bathroom – story of my life) and one assist. Unfortunately they didn’t make the finals. Fortunately, this meant we got to go to dinner for my birthday.

Last week I told Brody I wanted to go to the Tornado Room for steak. He was surprised because normally I choose funkier or more ethnic restaurants. This pregnant lady wanted beef, which, interestingly enough, is also what I requested for my birthday dinner last year.

I basically knew exactly what I wanted when we sat down – baked french onion soup, petit filet (medium rare), and a green vegetable (I went with asparagus). Their steak is SO good, and I love the onion ring they serve on top of the steak. I failed to take any food pics, but if you live around Madison or are visiting and you want the best steak in town, go here and you will not regret it.

At home, I had a few bites of Chocolate Shoppe peanut butter cup ice cream and then went to bed. We were asleep by 10pm. Party animals around here.

As for presents, my sweet husband got me a ten classes at my favorite yoga studio, Inner Fire Yoga, so that post-birth, I can get in the routine of going once a week on Saturday or Sunday while he stays home with our little one. He also got me a fabulous diaper bag.
20130428-144226.jpg

I had planned on just using his (the Diaper Dude), but this one is way cuter and looks more like an over-sized purse. He’s so good at gifts!

Like I said – a very good day.

Questions:
Are you a “birthday” person?
What would your perfect birthday be like?

9 thoughts on “Hey Shorty, It’s Your Birthday

  1. That bag is SO cute! He definitely did well! Glad you had a great day. =) I absolutely CRAVED french onion soup all wast week…I think I’m going to do a post about the recipe. It involves plenty of tasty soup, floating bread, and broiled cheese…mmmm.

  2. Happy belated birthday! That sounds like a fantastic day. Two of my older sisters and I have the same birthday so growing up, so May 13 was always a pretty big celebration. Josh, bless his heart, tries to make my birthday special but birthdays aren’t that big of a deal to him. We’ll be in Disney right before my birthday this year so hopefully we’ll get a night out to celebrate.

    • Wait…three of you have the same birthday!?!?! That is crazy! How did your parents plan that? I can see why it was such a big deal. Being in Disney for a birthday would be fun – will you and Josh be able to get away for a dinner with just the two of you?

      • It is pretty crazy. Wasn’t planned but I think she was induced with me. I was born around 11:30 p.m. so it was almost the day after. Josh’s parents are coming with us so hopefully we’ll be able to get away for a bit!

Leave a Reply

