Pregnancy Update: Week 28

I think I’m overdue for an update. Enjoy!

How far along? Twenty-eight weeks! So crazy. I am now in the third trimester.
20130320-174452.jpg

Baby’s size? One site says she’s an eggplant and the other a Chinese cabbage. Regardless, she is supposedly about 2 1/4 pounds.
20130320-175626.jpg

Weight gained? At my appointment a week and a half ago, I was up 13 pounds, but on Friday (when we got the good news), I was up 10 pounds. This is a little low on the spectrum, but I am measuring where I should be, so no one is concerned.

Stretch marks? No, but have I mentioned I have the linea nigra? It’s not especially dark but there’s a definite line.

Sleep? Eh, not good. For the last two weeks I have been having some stomach troubles (the doc thinks it’s a bug), and I’ve been up a couple times every night to use the bathroom. Along with that, I wake up more often and need to change positions. I have started sleeping with a pillow to encourage my body to stay on the left side. It’s working pretty well.

Best moment this week? I have three to share.
1) Brody felt her really kick this week, and that was cool. He was surprised how strong she’s getting. My sister, Laura, also felt her kick while at the Admirals game on Saturday.
2) On Saturday morning, I got my butt to the gym for a BodyStep/Attack cardio class. It’s an easy class to modify, and it goes by so quickly because the two teachers are great and the music is fun.
3) My last “best moment” this week was also a milestone in this pregnancy: the glucose test.

20130320-174129.jpg
I drank this baby on the way home from school. I didn’t think to refrigerate it but thought it was fine at room temperature. It was sweet, but as my coworker said, “I’m sure you’ve drank much worse while out at the bars.” Touché, Dave.

Miss anything? I am looking forward to sleeping on my stomach again and not having to pee every hour.

Movement? Yes ma’am – lots of it. As I write this she is kicking under my right ribs.

Food cravings? Nothing that stands out. My palate has been fairly normal this week. I have noticed that I can’t eat as much at a time.

Anything making you queasy or sick? Chicken breasts still make me want to gag; however I can do shredded chicken. Strange, I know. Car rides continue to be no fun in the morning. This stomach bug (if that’s what it is) is also a pain, and although I don’t have any nausea or vomiting, I still qualify it as “making me sick.” The nurse recommended Florajen3, so I picked that up today at Target.

Gender? Girl.

Labor signs? None.

Symptoms? Heartburn, frequent urination, varicose veins (of a unique variety), and a growing waistline.

Belly button in or out? It doesn’t seem like I’ll ever have an outie, which is fine with me. It is funny, though, to see where the holes were for my belly button ring.

Wedding rings on or off? On.

Other baby related updates and info:
-We picked out a color for the nursery: Essential Gray by Sherwin Williams. Brody and I have a painting party for two (or three I guess) planned for Friday night.
-We are strongly leaning towards using cloth diapers. Thoughts? Experiences from moms who have used them?
-A coworker-carpooler-friend gave me her Diaper Genie. It was so nice of her, and she appreciated me getting it out of her basement. A win-win! I’m sure we will use disposables from time to time, and of course we have to use them in the beginning.
-My school board approved my leave of absence for first semester of next year, which means our little girl won’t have to go into daycare until she’s seven months.
-I’m thinking of buying some more maternity clothes from Old Navy. They have a lot of stuff on sale still, and shipping is free with orders over $50.

Time for dinner – catch you later!

5 thoughts on “Pregnancy Update: Week 28

  1. Yay! Officially a viable baby this week! It’s a milestone. 😉 My sister loved cloth diapers, and a Diaper Genie is a MUST for disposables! I disposables are definitely necessary for the newborn goo…I recommend Pampers Swaddlers, they’re the softest and had the fewest blow-outs. =)

    • I know – such a good feeling, not that I want her to come out any time soon. Keep growing baby girl! I actually registered for those diapers at Babies R Us – my neighbor also said they were the best. Good know others agree! Other newborn necessities in your opinion?

      • McKenzie loved the velcro swaddlers, And she REFUSED to latch, so I used a pump for 5 months. I loved having the pump so Jon could feed her when I was gone or tired…it was a lifesaver. Other than that, it’s been so long I barely remember, honestly! =) All I know is: the STUFF matters the least, all they really need is a boob, blanket, and some cuddles. 😉

  2. I loved using cloth with both of the girls. It’s more laundry and you need to change diapers more frequently but it’s quite easy once you get into a routine. If you have a store nearby or know someone who uses them, I highly recommend going to see the different types before buying an entire stash. Different brands and styles fit differently so I’d only buy a few until she arrives and you see if she’s a chunky little thing or more lean. My favorite brands were knickernappies, totbots, bumgenius (freetime is supposed to be great), and fuzzibunz.

    • You are a wealth of knowledge! Thank you 🙂 There are a couple stores in Madison who sell them, and I think we’ll take your advice and buy a few different brands to start. I’m not sure which brands the stores around us sell though, but I am no stranger to buying from Amazon. Luckily I do not hate laundry – it’s actually one of my favorite chores (if there can be such a thing).

Leave a Reply

