Stuck in a Rut

Good morning! I was awake early, bright-eyed and bushy-tailed this morning just like Jimmy.

20130202-065738.jpg

Photo of Jimmy, his handler (?), and the SP mayor last year
source

To be honest, I don’t know what time Jimmy, Sun Prairie’s groundhog, wakes up on his special day. Probably closer to sunrise. I was happy to find out that Jimmy did not see his shadow, which means an early spring. Thank you, Sun, for waiting to come out until after this very scientific event.

Apparently, Sun Prairie is the “official” groundhog capital of the world, and yet Punxsutawney stole all the glory. If you care at all, here’s Sun Prairie’s groundhog website.

The connection I made between Groundhog Day and my life comes from the movie with Bill Murray, who wakes up every morning on the same day. He relives the same day differently, and eventually starts to not care what he does (e.g. drives his car, accompanied by a groundhog, off a cliff). It has been a really long time since I’ve seen this movie, and I don’t recall all the details, but it’s safe to say Bill Murray’s character is stuck in an uncontrollable rut.

I am in some ruts; most I like, and one I don’t.

My breakfast is in a rut…and I’m loving it.
20130202-154016.jpg

Some kind of toasted bread product, Earth Balance coconut chunky peanut butter on one slice, light cream cheese on the other, sometimes a banana, sometimes orange juice, and always my vitamins (a prenatal and 500mg of vitamin D3).

Oh, you haven’t hear of this amazing peanut butter yet?
20130202-154330.jpg

Source
Please find the nearest store with the largest nut butter selection (for us it’s Woodman’s), and purchase this. It has a light coconut flavor that somehow complements the peanut flavor perfectly.

I’m in a survival, post-apocalyptic tv show rut…and I am happy with it. After bulldozing through The Walking Dead, we were at a loss. What to watch for a month until season three picks up again on Feb. 10? Brody suggested Jericho, a show about a small Kansas town who does their best to function after a handful of nuclear bombs cripple many major U.S. cities.
20130202-160841.jpg

source
Just the other night, we finished season one, and it was very good. Not as addicting or consuming as The Walking Dead, but still a good dose of humans dealing with a world very different from the one we know now.

I’m in a workout rut…and I’m semi-ok with it. For the last couple months, I have been running three miles twice a week, taking BodyPump once a week, and sometimes going to yoga. When it wasn’t negative a million degrees, I also get to the dog park about three times a week. Considering I am carrying a few extra pounds around in my belly, I am proud of how I’ve kept up with a decent exercise routine. While I don’t want to shock my body by doing anything new, I could benefit from taking a step or Zumba class and maybe even jumping on the elliptical from time to time. Anyone know of any good pregnancy workout DVDs?

Lastly, I’m in a non-reading rut…and I’m not okay with this one. I’m an English teacher for pete’s sake! During my first trimester, I was so tired by the time I made it to bed, I fell out of the nighttime reading habit. While Brody read or watched tv, I would pass out immediately. Now I am still quite tired at night, but not like before. With the start of a new semester, I’m not swamped in grading yet, and I have the time. I also just started a new book, The Good Soldiers by David Finkel, and I really like it so far.

20130202-155552.jpg
Source
Sadly, I forgot to bring my book home from school this weekend. Can blog and Real Simple reading be an okay substitute for now? I hope so,

Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

Question:
What rut are you stuck in? Is it good or bad?

6 thoughts on “Stuck in a Rut

  1. We loved Jericho…but it definitely doesn’t compare to the Walking Dead! And this weather has been ridiculous. I usually love walking McKenzie to school everyday, but lately we’ve just been driving the less than 1/2 mile trip there. It’s terrible. And I feel trashy taking her to the East Towne Mall to play at the indoor playground there, but hey, they’re not even having recess right now! Oh, boy. The joys of Wisco.

    • No judgement for driving her – it was way too cold this week! This next week looks better, though.
      I was at the mall not too long ago and the play area was hopping! Hey, you do what you got to…especially if it’s free! When I babysat, we sometimes went to a craft store to look around – sometimes you just have to get out of the house.

  2. I haven’t been cooking full meals lately. Thats my rut….I’m still eating healthy so its not the worst, but if I don’t cook healthy meals Jp doesn’t eat very healthy, so I need to get us both back on track.

    • That’s an easy rut to fall into. It’s funny – Brody always wants us to eat the same thing for dinner, so whatever I decide we’re having (with his some of his input and food preferences in mind), that’s what we eat. Have you tried Real Simple’s teriyaki meatballs? They’re awesome and super easy…and they have veggies in them 🙂

Leave a Reply

