Christmas Survey

Everyone loves a survey! While catching up on Janae’s life, I read her Christmas survey post and decided to join in (just a little late).

1. Favorite Christmas song or album?

I love the Carpenters’ holiday album!
20121221-171618.jpg

My dad used to play it every Christmas on our record player, and although I don’t have a CD version of it, I bet I can listen to it on Pandora. If Brody was answering this question, he’d say the Oak Ridge Boys holiday album.
20121221-171722.jpg

We listen to it every year while decorating our tree.

2. Run on Christmas morning or take the day off?

Normally we’re in Ohio, and we open gifts Christmas morning, so I skip the workout. However last year I think my SIL and I went running Christmas afternoon because it was 50 degrees outside. This year it depends on the weather and whether my gym will be open or not. To be honest, there’s probably only a 25% chance of it happening.

3. What do you usually eat on Christmas morning?

Brody’s family, and now our family, has the tradition of eating Sara Lee’s butter streusel coffee cake. I bought three at Woodman’s today so we can continue this tradition at our house.
20121221-171456.jpg

4. Favorite holiday or Christmas tradition?

Because we have spent the last five years in Ohio for Christmas, Brody and I always celebrated early with just the two of us. We get BBQ takeout, watch Love Actually, and open gifts. Even though we’ll be home this year, we are still doing this tomorrow night.
20121221-171830.jpg

5. Real tree, fake tree, or no tree?

We get a real tree. I love the smell and enjoy decorating it with our mish-mash of ornaments.
20121221-171949.jpg

6. Christmas pajamas…yay or nay?

I’m gonna say nay. While I like holiday-esque pjs, full blown holiday pjs aren’t my thing. There is also no way in hell I could ever convince Brody to wear pjs with Santas or reindeer on them.

7. Where do you spend the holidays?

As I’ve already explained in other answers, we normally go to Ohio but we are staying home this year, and everyone is coming to us. Brody’s mom flies in Sunday morning, my mom comes Monday early afternoon, and my sister and her boyfriend are also coming Monday.

8. Food that you always have during the holiday season? Favorite Christmas food or treat?

My mom makes amazing sugar cookies. She uses butter, not margarine or shortening, and something else that makes them incredible. Brody’s family makes a rib roast (like the one we had for Thanksgiving this year) for Christmas Eve dinner. We are continuing this tradition and have ordered the roast from Underground Food Collective.

9. Open presents all at once or take turns?

Growing up, we always took turns. At Brody’s, we also spread out the gift opening.

10. Favorite Christmas movie?

Brody and I were talking about this last night. I had a hard time thinking of one, but I settled on It’s a Wonderful Life. I also like Elf and Christmas Vacation.
20121221-172054.jpg

Brody’s favorite is White Christmas.
20121221-172212.jpg

Question:
Your turn! Answer one or more.

8 thoughts on “Christmas Survey

  1. I like that we did all those things pretty much! Coffee cake – yum, White Christmas and Its a Wonderful Life- btw I left it at your house. Thanks for a great Christmas πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

