Snow Day

A winter wonderland in Wisconsin!
20121220-143751.jpg

Around 5pm last night, my district canceled classes for today. We were one of the last districts in the area – heck, even Madison Public Schools had canceled. I was pretty certain we would be having a snow day, so like most other teachers (and hopefully students), I brought lots of work home to do. There was no way I wasn’t going to take advantage of a day off to not chip away at the mounds of grading I have. (A few too many negatives in that sentence.)

I slept in a little (by only thirty minutes) and had a nice relaxing breakfast of toast with sunflower seed butter on one piece and cream cheese and strawberry jelly on the other. Because Brody’s been sick, we have orange juice, which I love, so I had a glass of that as well. Coffee would’ve rounded out my first meal of the day perfectly, but I accidentally left the grounds in the coffee maker from last week (oops) and some mold was growing. Gross, I know. After a few runs with vinegar and water, it’ll be good to go for tomorrow.

Although Brody’s work was canceled, he still drove in for a few hours of work. To be as productive as possible while he was gone, I made myself a “to do” list to stay focused.
20121220-143628.jpg

I first graded literary analysis essays, ones that students turned in over a month ago. It felt SO good to get those done.

Taking a break from school work, I put on holiday music and wrapped some presents for Brody, my sister, and my mom. Our tree looks so much better with presents under it.
20121220-143710.jpg

Lunch was decent: chicken noodle soup from Copps (Brody bought it but didn’t like the strong oregano flavor), a few Triscuits, an orange, and three dark chocolate covered marshmallows.

20121220-144141.jpg
Have you tried these? They are fantastic. Since becoming pregnant, my sweet tooth has been a little off. While I still crave sugar, anything too rich does not taste good. At a holiday party last week, I took a chocolate truffle and could only eat half of it. That is crazy talk coming from me.

The power of the “to do” list worked its magic early this afternoon and forced me to read four chapters of The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn. Did you have to read this in high school? This is my first year teaching it at my current school, and I am actually enjoying it (both the book and the teaching). I read it in high school but don’t remember being blown away like I was with East of Eden. While I don’t think many students are enjoying and liking this classic, I think they can appreciate it. Maybe they won’t totally get its importance until we finish the whole book.

Has my snow day been all work and no play? No sir-ree (is that how you spell that?). I cleaned out a few drawers in the future baby’s room closet, I showered, and I am writing this now. Wow – that makes me seem pretty lame. Brody and I are actually about to watch Midnight in Paris, which I LOVE, and maybe I’ll take a nap later on. See? I am fun…and lazy, like Moose.

20121220-143842.jpg

Happy Thursday!

Questions:
Did you have snow days as a kid? What did you do on your day off?
Are you a “to do” list maker?
What was the best book you read in high school?

4 thoughts on “Snow Day

  1. Growing up in northern Canada, had snow days and cold days all the time! We usually played outside and ate delicious food. Totally a list maker – checking things off feels good. Best book I read in high school was probably To Kill A Mockingbird – it’s the one I remember the most. That and Brave New World.

    • From your pics, you guys did have a fun snow day! I can’t believe how huge those snow balls got on your Golden’s coat!!
      We do have quite a few things in common (English degree, father who died too early, Goldens, etc.) – I just added your blog to my Google Reader đŸ™‚
      Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

