We’ve Got a Bun in the Oven

In my last post, I snuck this big news in at the very end.

Brody and I are having a baby!
20121210-200725.jpg

The questions you may have (or ones I’ve been asked often):

How have you been feeling?
Not too bad! I consider myself one of the lucky ones (unlike Kate Middleton) who have had very few negative side effects. There was a little nausea around weeks seven and eight and no throwing up. I became quite tired at night and could’ve easily fallen asleep most nights by 8pm. Lastly, I am hungry more often and have started keeping a bag of mini-snacks in my desk at school.

When are you due?
Baby is scheduled to arrive June 10, which means I am just starting my fifteenth week. This is good timing because my last day of school is a few days before. I am hoping I don’t go into labor early so that I can finish out my year and not have to be grading final exams from a hospital bed.

Have you had any cravings or food aversions?
Early on I craved pita chips and hummus, and for a few days, strawberries. Pretty consistently I have been into cheese for most of the first trimester. My eating schedule has changed a little; now I eat breakfast right away after showering at 6am, a snack at 9:30am, lunch at 11:45am, a snack at 3am, another mini-snack at 5pm, and dinner at 7:30pm. I have been consciously eating a little less so as to not go way over the extra 300 calories I should be consuming.
The only aversions I’ve had are towards meat on commercials, especially for burgers and tacos. Barf! I am completely fine eating this stuff (we had burgers Friday night and will have tacos tonight), but it’s something about the visuals that makes me want to gag.

Have you met with your doctor?
We’ve had three appointments so far: one with my PA at eight weeks, one with my doctor at twelve weeks (when we got to hear the heartbeat), and one with an ultrasound tech at thirteen weeks (when we saw the baby). Brody and I both thought seeing the baby was the best ever; however, we thought the 3D (or is it 4D?) pictures were kind of creepy.
That night we celebrated with a fancy dinner at Chipotle.
20121210-200837.jpg

How did you tell people?
I had to tell the Wine and Recipe ladies when I was only about eight weeks along because we had the ladies weekend up in Minocqua scheduled. There was no way I would’ve been able to fake drink, and there was no way I wasn’t going to go. One friend knew, and she was responsible for bringing the alcohol; she totally hooked me and another pregnant W&R lady up with O’Douls.
20121210-201058.jpg

A couple weekends later, we told my mom and sister. I bought them each onesies and said I had an early Christmas present for them. My sister figured it out first and started hitting me with the onesie saying “Shut up! Shut up!” while my mom hugged Brody twice and repeatedly said “I’m going to be a grandma.”
When we were in DC, we told Brody’s mom and sister. Brody casually slipped it into conversation on Thanksgiving day before we had eaten and took everyone by surprise. They were both very happy as well.
We made it Facebook official on Thursday night. Brody had the idea of posting a picture of a single bun in the oven with no description or comment.
20121210-200627.jpg

*Please disregard our super dirty oven.
People got it right away. I hope our baby gets Brody’s sense of humor.
Our friends found out around week twelve. Brody texted it to most of his friends, and I called or emailed close friends. It was so much fun telling people. People who are already parents seemed to be especially excited.

Are you showing?
Not really. I have a little bump that becomes more pronounced at night. I am still able to wear all my regular clothes, but I did, per Kelly’s advice, go buy a few maternity items from Target for that day when nothing fits. I do need dress pants – suggestions? From week eight to week twelve, I gained two pounds but who knows if that was just general weight fluctuation or the start of my “gaining baby” weight.

How has your exercise routine changed?
It didn’t change much at first. If you recall, I was training for a half marathon this fall. I was two weeks away from the race when I took a pregnancy test, and after talking to my PA, decided to run it. At eight weeks, I ran a half marathon and PR’ed. I was not expecting that, but I listened to my body and paid attention to my breathing.
Since the half, I haven’t run more than 3.5 miles at a time. Most weeks I have gotten at least two runs in and walks at the dog park about five times a week. I have recently committed myself to attending at least one yoga class a week, as I purchased a 20 pass package for $20 that expires in six months.
One reason for the decrease is from tiredness. For many weeks I was exhausted after teaching, walking at the dog park, making (or throwing together) dinner, etc. Now that I’m officially in my second trimester, I am hoping my energy levels will increase and I can hit up the gym at least one more time a week.

There’s my first official pregnancy post. I don’t know if I’ll be able to swing a weekly post, but I’ll keep you all updated as things progress. I will soon begin forcing Brody to take photos of me so we can all see how my belly grows.

Have a great night!

Questions:
If you are pregnant or are a parent, what was the best and the worst things during your pregnancy?
If you aren’t pregnant or a parent, how has your exercise routine changed now that it’s winter?

9 thoughts on “We’ve Got a Bun in the Oven

  1. I’m definitely not pregnant. But I’m excited to be an Aunt :). I was at target ooh-ing and ah-ing at all the cuuuute Christmas baby clothes… :/

  2. I’d suggest getting a Bella Band to use on pants for a while (a stretchy band you can wear over unbuttoned pants). They aren’t perfect, and can ride up in the back, but it did help me get along without maternity pants for a while. Then I went to Motherhood Maternity and bought basically all the pants I’ve been wearing since- A black, brown, gray pair of bootcut and a stretchy pair of black skinny pants which have ended up being my absolute favorite. I also bought a pair of bootcut and skinny jeans (from Gap and Motherhood I think) which I also wear often.

    You’re so awesome and lucky to be able to keep running! I did well until about 15 weeks, and then my lower abdominals didn’t like it much at all anymore. I’ve been doing yoga since, which I really enjoy and has turned out to be helpful in averting some discomfort.

    Also– count yourself very lucky about the sickness! I had to get nausea meds about 7 weeks in and took them until 16 weeks. I still had an aversion to pizza despite the meds (that is still there, but not so bad now) and I totally agree about food on TV. For me it’s even worse after I’ve already eaten something!!

    Hope you guys have a fantastic holiday– and we should get together for mocktails soon!!

    • Thanks for the suggestions! I’ll definitely check out the Bella Band. I tried on maternity pants at Target but I couldn’t tell if they would fit without me somewhat filling them out. I’ve also heard Motherhood Maternity is good, so I will go there for pants first.
      You poor thing! I can’t imagine how hard it must’ve been to work (and have to look and act like you’re not nauseous) while feeling sick for so long.
      Your due date is coming up soon, right? So exciting! Can’t wait to meet Baby Green šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

