Thankful in DC

Happy Thanksgiving!

Brody and I flew into DC last night. Yup, we are quite the jet-setters – from one coast to another in three days. Normally we host Thanksgiving, but we wanted to get out here to see Brody’s grandma and sister. As draining as traveling can be, I am thankful we are able to travel as much as we do and also spend Thanksgiving with Brody’s family.

We are staying at Hotel Rouge which is only a mile or so from the Mall.

20121122-110702.jpg
Our corner room is huge and very mod (think lots of red, gray, black, and chrome). But last night, I was especially thankful for a comfy bed.

This morning we woke up around 8, each had a Clif Bar (white chocolate macadamia nut – delicious), and changed into running clothes. I love running in new cities, so you can imagine my excitement when Brody told me he was packing his running gear.

We set out towards the Mall and ran around the White House, the Lincoln Memorial, the Vietnam Memorial, and probably a few others. Although the temps were in the high 30s to low 40s, the sun kept us warm. There were lots of other runners out, like us, burning a few hundred calories before the eating extravaganza.

I did make Brody take a photo with me, and even though he’s not smiling, I still like it.

20121122-113413.jpg
I am very thankful for an amazing husband who runs with me, listens to my pointless stories, and laughs at my horrible sense of direction.

The rest of the day will involve lots of down time watching football, snacking, and feasting on a massive rib roast. I am thankful for family and food.

Cheers!

Questions:
Where are you celebrating the holiday?
What are you thankful for?

3 thoughts on “Thankful in DC

Leave a comment