Epiphanies

Epiphany #1
I swear to God that when I left last Friday morning, it was still “summer” in Wisconsin. Warm temps, green trees, and flip flops. Now this:

20121004-171808.jpg
Driving back from MN Tuesday.
And this!

20121004-171944.jpg
Heck, even my dogs match the colors.

20121004-172447.jpg
The last few CSAs have also included squash.

20121004-175828.jpg
Butternut squash soup is coming up!

Epiphany #2
BodyPump hurts after a couple weeks off.

20121004-180029.jpg
source
This is EXACTLY what I look like at BP at 5:30am. It is uncanny, I tell you.
A minor epiphany occurred this morning when I realized it wasn’t Tuesday. Last night I looked at the group fitness schedule and apparently looked at Tuesday. Excited, or as excited as I can be before the sun comes up, I asked for my BodyCombat ticket. The front desk lady looked at me like I was silly and told me I could choose between RPM (spin) or Pump.

BodyPump went well, and I am already sore. Tomorrow is a rest day luckily, as I see challenges in walking, stairs, and sitting.

Epiphany #3
I like salty dinners.

20121004-180942.jpg
ThIs disgusting looking yet delicious recipe is from a recent issue of Real Simple. We got collards in our CSA last week, and when I saw this soup, I wanted to try it. Instead of andouille sausage I used pork and chicken sausage (I had a coupon and it was double coupon day yesterday!). Although there is no added salt, this soup is salty! Maybe it’s from the dried beans? The chicken broth? The sausage? Regardless, I am totally into it, just like I love me some teriyaki meatballs (also salty and also a Real Simple recipe).

Epiphany #4
My Costco Asics were not working for me. After a few long runs resulting in blisters on both feet, I realized it was time to return to my beloved Gel Nimbus 12s.

20121004-183749.jpg
Oh how I missed you.

I ran in these yesterday afternoon on my teacher run, and not surprisingly, they felt incredible.

**********

So I guess you may have noticed my lack of posts recently, especially during the weekdays. Being back at school is kicking my butt! I don’t want to force posts, and when the day is done, sometimes I need the couch, Brody lying next to me, and The Voice. Hopefully life calms down a little in these next few months, though. It’s been go Go GO!

Have a wonderful night!

Question:
What epiphany have you had recently?

6 thoughts on “Epiphanies

  1. It is definitely fall here too! I hope we have a nice long fall before winter gets here (of course our winter in TN is probably like your fall!). My epiphany today – I found an essay I wrote my senior year of high school, and it makes me desperately want to get back into writing! Have a great weekend!

    • I am jealous that your winter is shorter than ours – I despise the cold!
      How cool that you found an essay. I tell students all the time to save their writings because it is so interesting to, years from now, read what you wrote.
      Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

