Recipes Galore

Have I got some delicious recipes for you today! Please make some of these over the weekend or next week and tell me what you think. And maybe send me pictures.

Tres Leches Cake
Adapted from Betty Crocker

Ingredients for cake
– 1 box yellow cake mix
– 1 1/4 cup water
– 1 tbs oil
– 2 tsp vanilla
– 4 eggs
– 1 can (14 oz.) sweetened condensed milk
– 1 cup evaporated milk
– 1 cup whipping cream

Ingredients for frosting
– 1 cup whipping cream
– 1 tbs powdered sugar
– cinnamon

Directions
1. Heat oven to 359 degrees. Grease 13×9 inch pan.
2. Beat cake mix, water, oil, vanilla, and eggs on low for 30 seconds and then on medium for 2 minutes.
3. Bake cake as directed. When done, allow to cool for 5 minutes.
4. Using a fork, poke holes in cake every 1/2 inch. Clean fork when necessary.
5. Mix the three milks together and pour evenly over punctured cake.
6. Refrigerate for an hour.
7. For the frosting, beat the whipping cream and powdered sugar on high until thick. Spread over cooled cake and dust with cinnamon.

20120817-113845.jpg

The following recipes are from last night’s Wine & Recipe Club. Jena picked an Olympic “Gold Medal Winner” theme. These are the Michael Phelps from our kitchens.

20120817-114122.jpg

Reuben Dip (from Amber)

20120817-114231.jpg
See how smart I was last night? Taking a picture of the recipe and the dish saves me the step of typing out the recipe. Some pictures are a little blurry. Blame the wine.

Avocado Basil Garlic Pasta (from Andrea)

20120817-114356.jpg
This looks familiar. Yup, this is the same dish I made last weekend. Andrea added more garlic than I did and now I realize my error.

Enchilada Bake (from Nicole)

20120817-114613.jpg
20120817-124543.jpg

Nicole’s family loves this so much that she often doubles the recipe and freezes a pan of it for a future meal. With the ground turkey, beans, and vegetables, this is a healthy, filling meal.

Fresh Basil Pesto Pasta (from Emily)

20120817-121453.jpg
The oily, basil flavor with cheesy tortellini makes this the perfect comfort dish. We ate it warm and I had two small servings. It would be good cold, too, or mixed with chicken, shrimp, or chopped tomatoes.

I failed to take a picture of my dish and the recipe, so I’ll just provide the link.
Last night I made a mistake. Instead of hot Italian sausage, I used Italian turkey. I left a small dish of the pasta for Brody for dinner. Upon eating it and realizing the switch, he sent me a text message.

Brody: You’ve made a mockery of me and the dish I love.
Me: Sorry – I wanted to try it with turkey sausage. I realize that was a mistake.
Brody: I don’t even know who you are anymore.

Moral of the story: use pork sausage for this.

Bon appetit!

4 thoughts on “Recipes Galore

Leave a Reply

