WIAW Summer Staples #2

Wednesday already? In the summer, I often wish the weeks went by slower, but in a few weeks, I will be changing my tune. At least I have a party to look forward to. Tonight I am hosting a Pampered Chef and Thirty-One party (I’ll have pictures and recipes, including one for a super easy tres leches cake, of it tomorrow) for a friend who recently had a baby.

I’m getting ahead of myself, and instead of the future, we need to talk about the past…specifically yesterday’s eats. A big thank you goes to Jenn over at Peas and Crayons and her creative theme, summer staples.
20120815-085418.jpg

Warning: I could not, for the life of me, remember to take pictures before I started eating. At least I remembered, right?

This morning I made it to the dog park immediately upon waking and walked for an hour and fifteen minutes. I ate half a banana before and egg sandwich (sandwich thin, one egg, crumbled bacon, spinach, and a slice of Monterey cheese) and a banana and a half after. Bananas sounded good to me apparently!

20120815-071308.jpg

I posted this recipe on Monday, and it makes a great leftover cold salad. All of those tomatoes are from my garden! The hybrid plant I bought combines the grape and Roma tomatoes and it is producing fruit like crazy. For a little sweetness, I finished the meal with about two cups of watermelon.
20120815-073952.jpg

20120815-072048.jpg
Around 4:00pm, I needed a snack, and apparently some sugar. Oops! It would’ve been rude to have served guests a dessert I hadn’t tested. Don’t worry….it’s good. Real good.

20120815-072516.jpg
Brody had a meeting, so I was on my own for dinner. It’s been ages since I’d had tuna. I mixed one can of albacore tuna with a tablespoon of light mayo, chopped tomatoes, garlic powder, onion powder, and a little cracked pepper. My sweet tooth (as if I hadn’t had enough sugar already) was satisfied with a fabulously ripe mango, and because I am honest, another small piece of tres leches cake. Yup, it’s still edible. Just checking.

Around 9:30, my stomach started making noises. I probably could’ve gone to bed and been fine but I chose to have the last cup of Corn Chex with a little milk.

As for my summer staples, mangos are definitively in that category. I love mangos and credit them with helping me break my chocolate addiction/habit last summer. Tomatoes are also a staple, especially if I grew them. A fresh tomato slice on a BLT or sliced thick with a little salt – nothing like it. My only complaint is that the acid starts to get to me. Real world problems here.

That’s all she wrote, and ate. Have I made that joke before? If so, I apologize. It’s bad.

Have a wonderful Wednesday!

Questions:
Do you have a garden? What is doing well this summer? Not so well?
What was the best thing you ate yesterday?
Do you eat a lot of sugar (natural, processed, or both)?

10 thoughts on “WIAW Summer Staples #2

  1. Look at all your schmantzie clip art! I still haven’t tried that medditeranean tuna recipe I sent you but I’ve really been meaning to.

      • I think it was just on the talking kitchen? or something like that, which I found the link through Pioneer Woman. You know how she has that one page to other peoples recipes and stuff? I always find like 10 things and will be drooling on my desk in no time so I try to cut down my browsing till after lunch 🙂

    • It is fabulous and so sweet. I love all things mango flavored as well. A restaurant in Madison makes a killer mango margarita – not as healthy as pure mango but very delicious.

Leave a Reply

