WIAW

Happy Wednesday!

As most of you have likely experienced, vacations can really disrupt a daily routine, including eating. This vacation was no different, but it was totally worth it.

We ate amazing food, such as…

Seafood “in the bell” – stuffed squid, octopus, zucchini, and potatoes

Steamed mussels in a white wine, butter, garlic broth

As much as I loved all of the food we ate (we seriously did not have one bad meal), it does feel good to get back to a normal schedule of eating. But don’t worry – I have more food photos from Switzerland and Croatia coming up in future posts.

Thanks to Jenn for hosting What I Ate Wednesday! This month’s theme has a twist to it – fitness! Being that I write most often about food and fitness, this is right up my alley.

Fitness at 6:15am
In the summer, I try to get the dogs to the park in the morning. Not only are the temps cooler, but the dogs are happier for the rest of the day and I have a group of people I like walking with who meet in the early morning. We walked for about forty-five minutes and covered around two miles. The dogs came home exhausted, and I came home hungry.

Food at 7:15am

20120718-062216.jpg
My mom, who stayed at our house Sunday night, left homemade bread for us to eat. She recently started using her breadmaker again. Yup, she was one of the very few people whose breadmaker didn’t just collect dust in the 90s when they were popular. I had two pieces of wheat bread with crunchy peanut butter (one with jelly) and topped with a dusting of chia seeds. Iced coffee with skim milk was also consumed. Eating and drinking occurred while watching The Today Show.

Fitness at 9:30am

20120718-062335.jpg
With my decision to scale back on running, I have been excited about attending more classes at my gym. My favorite class is a BodyCombat/kickboxing class on Thursday mornings at 9:30am; the instructor is fantastic. On the schedule, this instructor was not listed for this class Tuesday morning, but to my surprise and joy, she was there and taught it! Her taste in music is perfect, she’s tough and encourages grunting/yelling, and I leave a sweaty mess.

20120718-062447.jpg

Food at 11:45am
On Sunday, my mom drove to our house with the dogs (she watched them while we were gone) and brought dinner along: chicken, pasta, and zucchini. There was a lot of leftover chicken, so I made chicken salad with a little mayo and Miracle Whip, celery, and raisins.

20120718-062528.jpg
This was served over a bed of spinach with half a tomato. I also had a banana with more chunky peanut butter.

20120718-062625.jpg

Food at 2:15pm
I needed a little something before taking the dogs to their vet appointment; I juiced four carrots, four strawberries, and a handful of kale. It was okay, and probably would’ve been better without the kale. I also had a small handful of trail mix from TJ’s.

Food at 5:00pm
Hungry again! I finished the chicken salad I had made for lunch.

Food at 7:00pm

20120718-063053.jpg
We had no Mexican on vacation – tacos to the rescue. I had a burrito with a small flour tortilla, taco meat, cheese, lettuce, tomato, salsa, and sour cream. I had blueberries and cherries for something sweet.

Fitness in the evening
Brody and I took the dogs for two ten minute walks tonight also. It’d be nice to go longer but the heat and humidity is too intense. At the vet, we found out both dogs have gained weight; they aren’t overweight, but we should probably both get them moving more and cut back on the human food they get.

Questions:
What is your favorite workout class?
Do you ever make your own bread maker? Oven or bread maker?
Do you feed your dog(s) human food?

5 thoughts on “WIAW

  1. I love BodyPump and Step. Combat is fun too! Fresh bread in one of my favorite foods and my mom has a breadmaker so she makes some for me whenever I go home 🙂 I don’t have a dog but my cat loves yogurt and peanut butter.

    • I haven’t taken a BodyStep for awhile but I remember how sore my calves were after.
      That is hilarious that your cat likes yogurt! I never think of cats eating people food like that. Does he/she get the container to play win too?

  2. Angie I’d like to point out that I did capture a beauty of a pick on your I-phone whilst you were in the hull, of a boat full of naked men. I’m shocked you have not posted or discussed this yet. I’m assuming you are just still working on this masterpiece of a post.

Leave a Reply

