Post-Marathon Existence, Nail Polish, and Balls

Hello, friends! I hope you’ve had a good Tuesday.

A friend told me that after she ran her first marathon, she was an emotional wreck. My post-marathon blues aren’t that intense, but I do feel a little blah.

To help with the soreness, I took two ibuprofen immediately after the race and then two more four hours later. I haven’t taken any since but probably should. The pain resonates in my quads, hamstrings, and behind my knees. I have the packed gravel to thank for not destroying the tendons in the front of my knees. Stairs are the enemy, especially when there are no handrails. I would rather walk up one hundred stairs than down ten.

Last night, my smart husband pointed out the white tube of pain that stood next to the tv. I reluctantly foam rolled for five minutes; it wasn’t as bad as I thought it’d be, but I did avoid my IT bands.

Yesterday I had bad stomach cramps from mid-morning through the late afternoon. They seemed to be worse after eating. Luckily, my stomach is feeling fine today. I have no idea if this was related to running or other factors.

Emotionally I am okay. It is strange to not have this big goal in the future, but I know I have other great things to look forward to. Plus with being on summer vacation, I am able to slow down in life (i.e. read, try new recipes, and go to more yoga classes).

**********
Brody’s allergies have been horrible lately, and I realized it had been a while since we had changed the filter in our furnace. During the stop at Target for said filter, I found other more fun items to purchase: cloth shorts, Chobani yogurt (cheaper here than Copp’s), Powerade, and nail polish.

20120612-185011.jpg
Painted nails and a new to me Luna bar

Such a fun, summery color! When I got home, I looked at the name and smiled: Bikini So Teeny. A very good friend of mine from college, Christina, was coined Tina after Tina Fabulous from The Bachelorette (year 2002 I believe). Tina later morphed into Teeny. She lives out in California with her husband, son, and dog but will hopefully be moving back to the midwest soon!

**********
Today was my first day nannying for a new family. The two boys play baseball and invited me to join them. Like Amber from Clueless whose surgeon doesn’t want balls flying at her nose, I also try to avoid balls flying at my face. Because I still cannot run, I offered to pitch. Luckily we were playing with a whiffle ball because the younger boy nailed me in the knee with it on a good hit. I am so pathetic at sports that it is comical.

And that was some random Tuesday ramblings, folks. Until next time šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

