Rhabdo Update and WIAW

Good evening ladies and gentlemen!  It’s Wednesday but feels like Monday to me because I spent the last two days in the hospital with Brody.  Before I get to Jenn’s What I Ate Wednesday, a quick update:

Brody’s CPK numbers continue to go down, and there is a very good chance he’ll be coming home tomorrow.  Last night, his CPK was at 54,000 and once they are below 30,000, he can come home!  I was able to come home yesterday because my kind, generous, amazing grandparents drove up to Antigo from Appleton, picked me up, brought me back to the Madison-area, and then drove back to Appleton.  Although I felt horrible leaving Brody up there, I needed to get back to work; with only a handful of instructional days left, I have a lot to do and teach still.  I will say it is strange to be in the house without the husband or dogs – it’s so quiet and lonely!  I’m excited for everyone to come home tomorrow.

Food.  I love it.  I don’t share a lot of my daily eats here, and that’s why I love participating in Jenn’s WIAW – thanks again Jenn!  Today I tried to focus on veggies and protein.  I think I succeeded – score!

BREAKFAST: 
As I got ready, I sipped on an iced coffee with coconut milk.  So refreshing!

The food portion of my breakfast included a bagel thin, half with cream cheese and fig butter and the other half with sunflower seed butter and homemade jam.  I polished off the fruit in the car during my drive.

SNACK:
I inhaled this yogurt and forgot to take a picture until it was in the trash.  There’s your proof: I ate a black cherry Chobani.

LUNCH:
My mom had cooked up chicken and ground beef for nachos grande (basically loaded semi-healthy nachos) and sent all the leftovers home with me.  I made a salad with romaine lettuce, half a tomato, chicken, black beans, and salsa as the dressing.  It was yummy and very filling.  I also had an orange and a few mini-chocolate bars.

SNACK:
On my drove home, I ate red pepper strips (no picture: driving + eating + camera = accident).  At home I needed a little sumpthin-sumpthin to hold me over until dinner and ate the whites of a hard boiled egg.  This is unpictured because I forgot.  You all know what eggs look like, so it’s all good.
DINNER:
With Brody gone and no meal to cook, I decided to clean out the freezer and finish the meatless chicken strips.  They have decent stats: two strips (small, IMO) were 100 calories and 8 grams of protein.  I ate four with BBQ sauce and then one more with honey.  I picked up a bunch of veggies and roasted a red pepper, yellow squash, and onion.

I will definitely be having something sweet before I call it a night.  Whether it be more watermelon, a brownie cupcake (made by Mom), or both, my sweet tooth demands satisfaction.

Questions:
Do you eat any meat substitutes?  How do you cook it?
What foods do you eat to satisfy your sweet tooth?  If you don’t have a sweet tooth, do you want to borrow mine?
4 thoughts on “Rhabdo Update and WIAW

  1. Yum that salad sounds awesome! I love making taco salads! I have a crazy sweet tooth…make that sweet teeth. Lately I’ve been grabbing some dark chocolate chips and a few pieces of roasted coconut to satisfy it, but sometimes it takes more than that haha. I love taking a vitatop (have you had them? so good!) straight out of the freezer and topping it with pb.

    I’m so glad Brody is doing better! I’m praying for him!

    • Dark chocolate and coconut – mmmm! Just like a Mounds bar 🙂 I have had VitaTops before (the chocolate and banana nut flavors) and like them a lot but rarely buy them. Thanks for thinking of Brody!

  2. those bagels look so cute! and I am loving cantaloupe and watermelon right now….yay for summer’s fresh fruits! 😀

    • I love all the fruit in the summer! I think you’re in CA (maybe?), but in Wisconsin, we have very limited fruit (unless you want to pay up the wazoo or buy fruit from Peru) in the winter. I can’t wait for white peaches.
      Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

