Turning Lemons into Lemonade

Not much about this situation is fun, but Brody and I have been able to find the positives and sometimes crack a joke or too.

1) Brody’s nurse right now is Joe Piskula’s mom! He played hockey for the Badgers when they won the national championship and now plays in the AHL up in Canada. Brody had fun talking hockey with her for a while.

2) Brody’s firm sent him a plant arrangement.

20120521-183455.jpg

3) Best Brody quote today: “I don’t need any food but you can dump my urine.” Let me explain: the doctor is requiring the nurses to track the fluid going in and out of Brody. As for the food, hospital food has been a little unappetizing and Brody hasn’t been a very good eater. Luckily, I have been bringing him peanut butter and jelly sandwiches and animal crackers.

4) I was able to figure out the details of rolling over a 403b and 401a from my previous job into a 403b I currently contribute to. Exciting stuff, people!

5) Brody has taken to calling his IV bags of fluid juice.

20120521-184705.jpg
He has taken to calling the bottles he has to pee into his whizzle jugs. I will spare you a picture of those. You’re welcome.

6) As obvious from this second post of the day, I have had lots of time to blog and catch up on the blogs I follow. In particular, I enjoyed reading about the Reach the Beach relay race Monica and Tina participated in. I would love to do one of these one day!

7) The Langlade Hospital is brand new and the facilities show it. The rooms are spacious, modern, and clean. I have found refuge on this comfy recliner.

20120521-185935.jpg

8) I have an amazing sub to take care of my classes while I am gone. She is a fabulous teacher and my students know her from when she subbed for me when we were in Maryland. Thanks again Joanna!

9) Our friend Bridget is hilarious: “So make a wish called back. They found out you were 30 and were gonna be okay and told me to go F myself. Sorry!” No offense to Make a Wish, which is an amazing organization that gives incredible opportunities to kids, but this made me laugh.

10) While Brody and I spent lots of time at the hospital, Moose and Frankie were able to take advantage of the cottage. With my mom up there, they roamed around, helped my mom landscape (i.e. chewed on wood chips), and went fishing (Moose, not Frankie). The cottage is probably their favorite place ever.

Brody’s CPK numbers have went up again. Boooo!!! Sunday night they were at 298,000; this morning they were down to 114,000; they are up again to 140,000. The doctor isn’t concerned but thinks it is just part of the flushing process. Considering they admit people with a count of 50,000, Brody’s are still ridiculously high. As I said before, a normal person is anywhere from 50 to 200.

This whole experience has been so surreal. This may top our story of our hot water heater starting on fire. That is a story for another time.

Goodnight folks!

7 thoughts on “Turning Lemons into Lemonade

  1. This is total crap! I was hoping for good news 😦 I’m so sorry. Please update us on his progress! I hope he pees all that stuff out ASAP!

    • I know – we were both bummed. We were also told his new doctor doesn’t like to release people until their CKP levels are 5,000 to 10,000…and Brody’s were still at 95,000 this morning.

      • holy crap! well at least they are out of the 100 thousands?!?! Lemonade….sending good vibes.

  2. You are doing a beautiful job with word choice that shows your personality, optimism and frustration :). Thinking of you!

Leave a Reply

