Wine and Recipe (Two for You) Night

Good morning! Because I have a jam-packed day of work and traveling (going to my cottage!), I am sharing these two recipes before I leave for work because they are both so good and so easy. I hope you try one or both of them (and then come back here and tell me).

Bourbon Pecan Chicken
Ingredients:
-1/2 cup pecans, finely chopped
-1/2 cup dry bread crumbs
-8 chicken breasts
-4 tbsp of butter
-1/4 cup Dijon mustard
-1/4 cup brown sugar
-3 tbsp bourbon
-2 tbsp soy sauce
-1 tsp worcestershire sauce
-3/4 cup butter, chilled and cut into small cubes
-1/2 cup green onions, sliced

Directions:
1) Stir together pecans, bread crumbs, and 2 tbsp of melted butter
2) Coat the chicken on all sides (may need an egg bath first)
3) Brown the chicken in the remaining 2 tbsp of butter over medium heat until cooked through, about ten minutes per side
4) In a small sauce pan,whisk together mustard, brown sugar,bourbon, soy sauce, and worcestershire sauce until smooth.
5) Bring sauce to a simmer over medium-low heat and then remove from burner. Whisk in 3/4 cup of butter one piece at a time.
6) Arrange chicken on a plate, pour sauce over chicken, and sprinkle with green onions.

*When Andrea made this for us, she used less butter in the sauce. Three-fourths cup is A LOT and really unnecessary. The chicken was cooked perfectly, but the sauce is really what makes this recipe. As Guy Fieri says, you could put that sauce in a flipflop and eat it.

Screwdriver Cake
Ingredients:
-1 (18.5 oz.) package yellow cake mix
-1 (3.5 oz.) package instant vanilla pudding mix
-3/4 cup orange juice
-1/2 cup vodka
-1/4 cup vegetable oil
-3 eggs
-1 cup powdered sugar
-3 tbsp orange juice

Directions:
1) Preheat oven 350 degrees; grease and flour a bundt pan
2) Mix first six ingredients together in a large bowl and beat until smooth
3) Pour in bundt pan and bake for 40-45 minutes.
4) To make the glaze, mix the powdered sugar and orange juice and drizzle over the cake

*When Mel made this, she baked it for 40 minutes and the texture was perfect. This cake is sweet, moist and semi-dense. I would like to experiment with healthifying it: sub in applesauce for oil, use light orange juice, and/or use an egg and four egg whites for the three whole eggs. I don’t want to change the flavor, but I bet making one or two of those substitutions wouldn’t alter it too much.

The six of us who could make it to Laura’s house for Wine and Recipe Night had a great time drinking wine on her back patio before going inside for a fantastic dinner. Can you tell what the theme was from these two recipes? Booze! Besides these two dishes, we also had a Cajun shrimp appetizer (also used bourbon), pasta with vodka sauce, and my dessert coffee risotto (called for rum but I used Kahlua).

Because I’ll be up-north, I’ll be MIA for a couple days. Brody and I are going to my cottage to help my mom put the dock in, do a little yard work, and of course, relax. I need to run eight miles tomorrow (my last long run before the marathon!), and Brody is bring up his bike. The dogs LOVE the cottage, so I’ll make sure to bring my camera to capture some of their joy.

Have a lovely Friday and weekend!

Questions:
What are your plans for the weekend?
Do you ever cook with booze? Please share your recipes or links!

4 thoughts on “Wine and Recipe (Two for You) Night

  1. Have a great relaxing weekend! Are you tappering already? or got a long run planned up in the pretty woods?

  2. Mmmm both of those recipes sound delicious! I made Bailey’s caramel truffles for a cookie swap at Christmas, and they were a HUGE hit! I also use wine quite a bit when cooking (I actually used it this week making maple mustard chicken), and we like to throw beer or whiskey into our homemade bbq sauces. Have a great weekend!!!

Leave a Reply

