Maryland – Drinks and Eats, Part One

“What do you want for dinner tonight?” Angie asked her husband after a weekend in Maryland.
“Whatever,” responded Brody. “What do you want?”
“Crabs,” replied Angie with a smirk on her face.

We ate a lot of crab this weekend: crab dip, crab cakes, crab (or it may have been lobster) bisque, and crab stuffed shrimps. We need a break from crab, but I will gladly share many of my meals from this weekend even though many of them include crab.

Our flight got into Maryland Thursday afternoon, and we had time to kill before Matt and Julie would be home. Being fans of Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives with Guy Fieri, we found Galway Bay Irish Pub, an Irish bar and restaurant featured on the show. Unfortunately because of time, we didn’t order their famous Irish sushi and just stuck to Guinness. As Guy points out on the episode, the bar lacks any tvs on the walls and I cannot recall music playing in the background. Instead we listened to the awkward and annoying conversation of two people down the bar from us. At least the Guinness was good!

After our beer, we drove to Matt and Julie’s house. Soon after Matt arrived home from work, the five of us (Ella came too) made our way to Rams Head Tavern for dinner.

We began with crab dip to appease our grumbling stomachs, and while the boys enjoyed a few beers, Julie and I stuck to water.

For my entree, I chose the classic crab cake sandwich with fries on the side. It was good, but nothing life-changing. The brioche bun distracted from the flavor and texture of the crab cake. The fries were decent and filled the void that traveling and flying often creates.

Friday morning, Brody and I both decided, may have been our favorite meal of the trip. Miss Shirley’s Cafe in Annapolis is a winner!

Appetizers for breakfast? Best idea ever. Matt, Brody, and I split the monkey bread: warm, cinnamony, caramelized pull-apart bread with a melted chocolate dipping sauce and a few slices of bananas.

Because I indulged in our breakfast app, I went healthy (quasi-lame, I know) and ordered the egg white crustless quiche with a side salad.

The quiche included feta, red peppers, tomatoes, and green onions. It disappeared quickly, so I went back for more monkey bread and a bite of Brody’s food: eggs Benedict with pulled pork, and instead of an English muffin, cornbread. Holy yum! Brody couldn’t finish it all even though he really wanted to.

The three of us and Ella walked around Annapolis for a few hours before deciding to eat again. I had walked past a few ice cream shops, and Matt steered me towards the best one. At Annapolis Ice Cream Company, I decided on the salted caramel and peanut butter Oreo. I met the boys and Ella at a table outside of a bar and savored my ice cream while they had a couple beers and a small pizza each. The salted caramel won, hands down. It tasted similar to the best cookie ever.

After our touristy afternoon walking around downtown Annapolis and through the Naval Academy, we said goodbye to Matt and Ella and headed to Kent Island for the official start of wedding weekend. Brody and I picked up two six packs and relaxed on our patio while all of my college friends got into town.

And because this post is getting a little lengthy, I think I will end it here…

More food and drinks from my Maryland trip tomorrow, and I promise there’ll be more crab.

Goodnight!

2 thoughts on “Maryland – Drinks and Eats, Part One

  1. Thanks for the mention, Angie! We’d love to share this with our Facebook fans…mind if we do? We’re glad you enjoyed the Skinny Shirley!

    -Miss Shirley’s Cafe

    P.S. That salted caramel ice cream sounds amazing!

    • You’re welcome!!! Thanks for taking the time to respond to my post. Of course you can share my post on your Facebook page – I’d be honored 🙂
      And yes, the ice cream was awesome – you should try it sometime.

Leave a Reply

