Bottoms Up

“One of these things is not like the other.  Which one is different, do you know?” 

Any guesses which one doesn’t fit?  Anyone?  Yes, Big Bird, you are correct.  The Crown Royale is the odd duck in this trio.  Alongside the protein powder and apple cider vinegar, this liquor doesn’t “fit.”  Now if you were to look behind the Crown Royale and maybe open the left cupboard, it would be a different story.

The apple cider vinegar and protein powder (with water added) are two fairly new liquids in my life.  Besides coffee, a smoothie, or an occasional soda, I only drink water.  Growing up, back in my Sesame Street days, I drank a glass of milk with dinner, but that stopped once I got to college.

After reading about the benefits of apple cider vinegar on various blogs, knowing how much I enjoy kombucha, and seeing the Bragg ACV on sale at Copp’s, I gave it a shot.  Unlike processed vinegar, this kind has the “mother” which is similar to the “mother” strands you see in floating in kombucha.

Although you can easily find websites toting the benefits of ACV, such as clearer skin, weight loss, and improved digestion, there is very little research to back those claims up. But because I actually like the taste of fermented liquids and I believe everything I read (not true, but I am quite naive), I decided to give it a try.  If I didn’t drink it, I figured I could use it to clean my coffee maker.

Sadly, since buying it a few weeks ago, I haven’t been very good about drinking it every day, probably because I keep it in the cupboard.  I would like to get in the habit of drinking it every morning.  When I have remembered to drink it, I add a teaspoon or two of it to twelve or more ounces of water and a squeeze of honey.

As for the protein powder, my friend Bridget and I started discussing a “challenge” of sorts after my marathon.  Both of us would like to lean out a little before our European vacation, and I think upping my strength training and protein intake would help make this happen.  Bridget shared with me A Foodie Stays Fit‘s recommendation: PlantFusion.  From her review, it sounded good and not chemical-y.  So using the Amazon gift card my mother-in-law sent me for my birthday, I ordered it and prayed I would like it.

When it arrived today, it was much larger than I had expected.  Compared to some of the other protein powders I had been eyeing up at grocery stores, it seemed like you got a lot more for the money.  Starving as I always am after school, I added a scoop of the powder to twelve ounces of water and shook the water bottle vigorously…maybe a little too vigorously.  There was quite a bit of foam, but it eventually settled.

Verdict?

It’s good; the taste is clean with a sweet vanilla flavor, and there were no clumps.  I know I would like it even more mixed in a smoothie or pancakes.  But in a rush, this is a great option for a satisfying snack with some staying power.  Another factor to consider is my lack of protein powder experience.  Since I’m a protein powder virgin, I don’t have anything to compare it to.  One side effect I noticed, which could have been a complete fluke, was a little excess air in my stomach (which could have been from to the massive salad I had for lunch).  TMI?  No?  Okay, good.

As I continue to use both apple cider vinegar and protein powder, I’ll report back and let you know what and if anything changes.

Up tomorrow…what else?  What I Ate Wednesday!

*Disclaimer: I am not a health professional (nope, just a high school English teacher) and all of my opinions are just that.  In particular, if you are considering including ACV into your diet, consider consulting a physician, pharmacist, or health care provider, as it can negatively interact with some medications.

Questions:
What other beverages do you drink besides water?
Any apple cider vinegar drinkers out there?
What is your favorite protein powder?
4 thoughts on “Bottoms Up

  1. I really like the SunWarrior vegan protein powder, but it’s a little pricey. My favorite whey protein powder right now is just some basic Optimum Nutrition Performance Whey (chocolate shake or vanilla shake). I want to try the cinnamon roll flavor.

    Besides water, I drink coffe, smoothies/juices, the occasional diet drink, and water with psyllium powder. I like to have wine or a light mixed drink on occasion too!

    • I’ve heard of the Sun Warrior powder – do you buy it somewhere or order it online? How often do you use it? I’m thinking of trying it in a pancake recipe for breakfast tomorrow morning 🙂

  2. oh great! Glad you liked it. I’ll have to pick some up this weekend. I’ve been so hectic since my return, I need to get to the grocery store!

Leave a Reply

