Orange Foods: Brody’s Cheese Dip and Pumpkin Muffins

Yesterday Brody watched an episode of That ’70s Show where they were eating Fritos, which made him crave his family’s secret cheese dip. He requested I blog about it but now refuses to share the recipe. I guess it really is a secret. I can tell you there’s Cheez Whiz and tomatoes (as you can see from the photo collage) in it and a handful of other ingredients, and that Fritos are the best chip to eat it with.

20120506-195202.jpg
This cheese dip has made an appearance at every Richter Christmas in Ohio for the last six years, at a few different cottages, and at his work’s annual outing in Minocqua. It is always a hit. I feel bad I am building it up yet have been instructed to keep the recipe hush-hush. Please direct all hate mail to Brody, not me.

Since I can’t share that recipe, I’ll share a different recipe of a different orange food: double pumpkin muffins. Now I know it’s not fall (when the entire blog world goes crazy for pumpkin flavored everything), but I think we should all give pumpkin a chance year round. I have can of it waiting to be used, and I am thinking pumpkin muffins would be yummy for breakfasts while in Maryland later this week (more on this trip on Wednesday).

I found this recipe in a Women’s Health magazine years ago, which I probably “borrowed” from my gym. Sidebar: I do take magazines from the gym, especially if I don’t finish reading them, but I always bring them back and add all of my read health magazines to the racks. This is okay, right? I love how these muffins taste in the morning with a little peanut butter. Plus, they freeze really well. I divide them out into sandwich bags and take a baggie out at night; come morning, they are thawed and ready to be devoured as I drive to school.

Double Pumpkin Muffins
Ingredients:
-1 cup all-purpose white flour
-1 cup whole wheat flour
-2 tsp baking powder
-1/2 tsp cinnamon
-1/4 tsp ground ginger
-1/4 tsp salt
-1 cup canned pumpkin
-3/4 cup skim milk
-2/3 cup packed light brown sugar
-1 large egg
-3 tbs olive oil

1) Preheat oven to 375
2) In a medium bowl, whisk together flours, baking powder, cinnamon, ground ginger, and salt. Set aside.
3) In a large bowl, whist together pumpkin, milk, brown sugar, egg, and oil until smooth.
4) Add dry ingredients to pumpkin mixture in two batches, stirring until just incorporated (a few lumps are fine).
5) Spray or line a muffin tin and pour batter in so each is about 2/3 full.
6) Bake for about 20 minutes. Use a toothpick to check doneness.
7) Let cool for 10 minutes before taking out of tin.

So easy and so delicious! I like how this recipe uses olive oil instead of canola oil. It gives them an earthy flavor and complements the pumpkin nicely. You could use canola oil, though, and they’d still be great. For more of a dessert muffin, feel free to add chocolate chips, white chocolate chips, or even butterscotch chips. I would imagine chopped walnuts or pecans would also be a nice addition for a little more staying power.

I hope this made up for withholding the cheese dip recipe.

Until next time, good night!

Question:
What is your favorite orange food?

Leave a Reply

