Can’t Buy Me Love (unless it’s…)

I agree that love between two people cannot be bought, but there are lots of things that can be purchased which bring me enjoyment. And maybe I feel a hint of love towards these items.

Trader Joe’s Fig Butter

20120506-091902.jpg
This jam-like treat is incredible, and a little bit goes a long way. I have been adding a thin layer of it over toasted bread with goat cheese or cream cheese. If I have time or need more protein, I took Natalie’s advice and added a drippy egg.

20120506-093202.jpg
This was my breakfast Friday morning: TJ’s stone ground wheat bagel, goat cheese, fig butter, and egg. Delicious!

Nike’s Dri-fit Tight Shorts

20120506-092931.jpg
I ran in these shorts yesterday and will likely wear them for the marathon. They don’t ride up, wick away sweat, and have a pocket in the back which can hold my keys and/or a GU.

Salvatore’s

20120506-103226.jpg
*This picture is from Salvatore’s website and is of their classic tomato pie.
Once again, Salvatore’s did not let me down. I met two friends for dinner last night, and everything I drank and ate was new to me. I started out the meal with Furthermore Knot Stock which is an IPA brewed with black pepper. It had a very interesting and unique flavor. Being this was the first time I had ever eaten at the restaurant (only had take-out), we had the opportunity to try the salume board. It came with assorted dried meats, cheeses, olives, and crostini. The Hook’s blue cheese on the crostini was my favorite. For the main course, we ordered half of the number four (homemade Italian sausage, caramelized shallots, roasted red pepper, and goat cheese) and half of the number nine (the Mediterranean Pie with olives, mozzarella, artichokes, prosciutto, roasted garlic, and roasted red peppers). I had a piece of each kind and loved them both equally. Unfortunately, each pizza has items that Brody doesn’t like, so it’s doubtful we’d ever order it for us. I guess I’ll have to keep going there with my girlfriends.

Birthday Flowers

20120506-095605.jpg
The flowers from Brody and my friend Rena lasted all week. I rarely have fresh flowers in the house (besides the occasional blooming peace lily), so it was nice to have these on our kitchen table.

Massages
My body aches today; my right IT band and thighs in particular are feeling it. I have a massage scheduled for 2:15pm today and cannot wait! Normally I like the masseuse to focus on my back and the two huge knots under my shoulder blades, but today I don’t want her to leave my bottom half.

My love for these items has nothing to do with how much each one costs, and if I think about it, the experience involving each item is really what I love.

Yes, the fig butter is delicious, but so is eating it while watching That 70’s Show with Brody on a Sunday morning.

Yes, the Nike shorts are great, but so was running and chatting with Mel and Tim.

Yes, Salvatore’s was amazing, but so was spending time with two coworkers outside of school.

Yes, the birthday flowers were beautiful, but so was realizing how kind my husband and friends are.

Yes, the massage will be incredible, but so is the feeling of treating myself to an hour of complete relaxation. I deserve it.

Have a nice Sunday with the things and especially people in your life you love!

Question:
What are you loving right now?

One thought on “Can’t Buy Me Love (unless it’s…)

  1. Those pizzas sound AMAZING…I just finished a sandwich of dippy egg, strawberry jam, and goat cheese, but now I want a whole pizza! 🙂

    I’m loving the dark chocolate covered edamame from TJ’s, my new pink shirt from Target, and the fact that school gets out in less than three weeks!

Leave a Reply

