What I Ate Wednesday

Yesterday would’ve been a much more interesting day for my What I Ate Wednesday, but I failed to bring my camera or iPad to school yesterday to take a photo of my lunch. But I think the point is to show just a normal day of food and to share food ideas and recipes.

Last night, when I was planning my meals though 4:15pm, I actually took into account Jenn’s monthly theme of an extra serving of veggies. At 9:30pm, I felt lazy and considered making a peanut butter and jelly sandwich which would’ve meant no veggies so far in my day. Thanks to Jenn for being a positive influence on my food choices today!

20120502-185255.jpg

After a big dinner meal, like so big you have a food baby, do you ever wake up starving the next morning? I do. Even in the middle of the night I woke up to intense hunger pangs. I also woke up to Moose licking my face and Frankie’s panting; both behaviors were due to thunderstorms. Needless to say, I couldn’t wait to eat my overnight oats on my drive to school, so I adjusted my morning meals.

Breakfast #1 @ 6:15am
I have been thinking of the Trader Joe’s fig jam in my refrigerator since I bought it on Saturday. Let me tell you – it paired perfectly with goat cheese on toast. Mmmm…

20120502-185101.jpg

Breakfast #2 @ 7:15am
Half of my overnight oats were consumed during my drive. Into the oats I mixed very cherry blend from TJ’s, plain unsweetened fat free yogurt, coconut milk, chia seeds, and honey. I swear I had a picture from Tuesday that I took in my car with my oats in my lap, but it is no where to be found.

Snack @ 9:15am
I finished my oats at my desk while doing work.

Lunch @ 12:45pm

20120502-185655.jpg
Putting together this salad was totally worth it. I love cold roasted vegetables on a salad! My “dressing” was horseradish hummus and cottage cheese. For dessert, I had a few mini-chocolate bars (Mr. Goodbars are currently my favorite.).

Snack @ 4:15pm
Copp’s had these bars on sale for 50% off, so I took a chance. Although all of the unpronounceable ingredients freaks me out a little, I still bought it and obviously ate it.

20120502-190000.jpg
It was okay but tasted pretty fake. I think it had pretty good stats: 190 calories, 15 grams of protein, 4 grams of fiber, 11 grams of sugar, and 26 grams of carbs.

Pre-dinner snack @ 7:00pm
Brody was at a social gathering, and I knew we wouldn’t be eating until after 8:00pm. Instead of going for the pita chips in my pantry, I had some almonds and chocolate chips. Whole Foods had their Synergy kombucha on sale 2/$5, so I stocked up on four. This strawberry flavor is one of my favorites.

20120502-190521.jpg

Dinner @ 8:30pm

20120502-203939.jpg
Once that goat cheese passed by my lips at breakfast, I had to have more, and since Brody doesn’t care for it, I knew there was only one meal that would work: pizza. My personal pizza on naan included Di Salvo’s pizza sauce, spinach, roasted red pepper, goat cheese, five cheese Italian blend, and Garlic Gold Italian blend. I ate half and will eat the rest tomorrow for lunch. After dinner, I also had some frozen mango.

And that’s all she wrote…or ate.

Have a nice evening!

Questions:
Do you bring your lunch or go out?
What are your favorite pizza toppings?

3 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday

  1. I love the combination of TJ’s fig jam and goat cheese! In the fall, I was totally hooked on this sandwich for my late night dinners (after teaching back to back fitness classes after cheer practice after working all day haha) – whole wheat toast or English muffin, dippy egg, goat’s milk creamy cheese, and fig jam. I want one now!

    All of your eats look scrumptious!

Leave a Reply

