What I Ate Wednesday

Hi folks! How is your Wednesday going? Mine is going quite well, except I did wake up to some odd sensations in my right knee and right hip flexor. I’m trying to be optimistic and be logical about it; I need to rest, ice the affected areas, and take some ibuprofen. As my 57 year old coworker/carpooler said, “When you run 18 miles, you should expect your body to respond in some way.” Good call, Dave.

Time for What I Ate Wednesday hosted by Jenn over at Peas and Crayons. April’s theme, extra cup of veggies, is motivating me to make good choices (at least on Wednesday) with my vegetables. As I’ve said before, I am great with my fruit intake but struggle with that other part of the pyramid…or plate…or whatever it is this year. Regardless, thanks to Jenn for organizing WIAW every week!

Breakfast @ 6:40am

Last night when I took the pulled pork out of the freezer for dinner tonight, I noticed a lonely bagel in a drawer. Every year for Christmas, Brody and I go to Ohio to spend the holiday with his family, and there are certain food joints we tend to visit annually; Barry Bagels is one of them. This chocolate chip bagel tasted amazing toasted. I topped one half with light cream cheese and the other with TJ’s peanut butter. Realizing it was Wednesday, I snuck in a serving of veggies with a glass of Amazing Grass. I bought this last year and haven’t used much of it. It tastes okay but doesn’t dissolve well. Let’s just say the last sip is not a pleasant one (texture-wise). Although it isn’t pictured, I also had an iced coffee with skim milk.

20120425-174002.jpg

Snack @ ???am

During my prep hour, I stopped in another English teacher’s classroom to see how she helps her AP students prepare for the test. Later, between classes, I grabbed a few almonds and dried bits of mango to stop my stomach from eating itself.

Lunch @ 12:45pm

20120425-194644.jpg

*Not my picture – from Allrecipes, link below

At the grocery store on Sunday, I purchased some meat, including ground chicken. It has about the same stats as ground turkey, and I thought it’d be good to mix up our protein sources. Unfortunately, I had no idea what to do with the chicken, so I headed over to Allrecipes and found this. I had everything it called for, and while I do enjoy grocery shopping, all I want to do after work is get home. They turned out well and had good flavor. They’d be good with pasta and marinara or on a meatball sub. We ate ours with broccoli cheese noodles (from a package), and I had this exact same meal for lunch. I completely spaced out and failed to take a photo. For dessert I had strawberries and a few flavored Tootsie Rolls.

Snack @ 4:45pm
I tend to crave carbs after school, but to do a better job with my veggies today, I microwaved a small sweet potato and topped it with Greek yogurt. Then I remembered the pita chips from Trader Joe’s and finished the last serving as I graded quizzes.

20120425-200644.jpg

Dinner @ 7:45pm

20120425-200834.jpg
Brody and I threw together a quick dinner of pulled pork sandwiches. I also had an apple to cleanse the palate.

Most likely I will have something sweet before bed, maybe a chocolate pudding pop or some dark chocolate M&M’s.  What I wish I had is Yogurtland.  Here’s a photo documenting my first (and only, so far) experience at this heavenly place.

20120425-174055.jpg

There you have it; another day of the eats of a pretty normal 20-something (okay, almost 29 year old) girl.

Have a great night!

Question:
Of my three main meals, which one would you be most likely to also eat?

P.S. The spacing of this post is totally annoying me.  I like it to be more organized and have spaces between the “ideas” (in this case, meals), but I haven’t figured out everything about WordPress yet.  I also wonder if it’s because I have an Apple.  I’ve heard Windows Live Writer is the best for writing posts, but that it’s not compatible with Apples.  Boo.

4 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday

  1. The only thing I miss about my old computer is having Windows Live Writer! It was awesome, and I could get my posts together so quickly compared to posting directly from WordPress. I think I’m going to buy the Parallels for my Macbook Air just so that I can have Live Writer again!

    I would eat all those meals, but the chocolate chip bagel sounds the best right now!

    • What is Parallels? I’ll have to look into that…I wonder if it is compatible (if that’s even the right term) with iPads.
      The bagel was yummy. Next time you’re in Ohio, go to Barry’s – such good bagel sandwiches too!

  2. I want to like the GREENS superfoods products so bad because they are natural and so good for you…alas they make me gag. everylastone 😦 I didn’t get a chance to run to WF’s but I’m gonna get that plant based protein drink I told you about when I get back from CA. I’ll let you know how it is! Have a great day.

    • Ya, I agree about the Greens. I have read it is an acquired taste. I also didn’t get a chance to go to WF’s but may this weekend. I looked on Amazon and I’m hoping it’s a little cheaper at the store. When do you go to CA?
      Your kitchen looks amazing!!!

Leave a comment