Frankie’s Big Premiere

I wish I would’ve known when the commercial Frankie had shot was being released; I would’ve started a countdown and built up the hype (think The Hunger Games). Although Moose would’ve been jealous, Frankie is jealous every time Moose gets a pill/supplement for his bad hips. It all evens out.  See, look how they share this chair.

Yesterday, Frankie’s former owner emailed me with the link to the commercial. I received the email during my fourth hour and yelped with excitement and scared my students who were working silently (okay, semi-quietly) on a response to an episode from Father Knows Best. After explaining Frankie’s big break, I asked if they wanted to watch it. Ummm…dumb question Mrs. English Teacher. Of course high schoolers want to be distracted.

I always watch EVERYTHING before showing it to students, so I quickly watched the thirty second commercial before hooking up my projector and speakers. Their response? “He made $100 for that?”

The commercial is for a cable company up in northern Wisconsin, so sadly we won’t see it on tv around here. It only shows Frankie for five seconds, but luckily he does his signature move: the eyebrow raise. We worked a lot on that and I am happy it made it into the final cut. Now if only Frankie had eyebrows like Duke, my friend Bridget’s dog.

20120419-195634.jpg
Duke is on the left and Jafar from Aladdin is on the right – striking similarity, right? Both pics are from Ridgey’s blog.

This got me wondering what cartoon character my dogs look like.

20120419-203840.jpg
Moose as Mufasa?

20120419-203924.jpg
Frankie as Bambi?

Even the name pairings resemble one another: The “moo” sound in Moose and Mufasa and the ending “ee” sound in Frankie and Bambi.

And with that crazy talk, it’s time for bed.  I have a big date with the elliptical tomorrow morning for some cross-training and need my beauty sleep for it.

Questions:
What words of wisdom do you have for Frankie about his newfound stardom?
What Disney character does your pet look like?
4 thoughts on “Frankie’s Big Premiere

  1. English teachers can always make “crazy” connections with the names like that! 🙂 I’m right there with you! That’s awesome that you have a famous dog! I’ll have to think on which charactres my animals look like…I’ll keep you posted. Have a great weekend!

  2. ahhh-donkey boy is so funny. Jp and I were just saying last night how cute he is, especially when he is tired. I’ll let him know he made his pint of goals debut!!! Have an awesome weekend.

Leave a Reply

