What I Ate Wednesday

Jenn’s idea for this month’s What I Ate Wednesday theme, extra serving of veggies, gave me the push I needed after eating such a bland (but delicious) Easter meal and too many Reese’s Peanut Butter Eggs (all Easter candy is 50% off!). Before I share my eats, many of which are green or heavy on the veggies (#veggievictory), I want to thank Jenn from Peas and Crayons for organizing this weekly food festival.

Breakfast at 6:45am

20120411-201932.jpg
This image kills two birds with one stone; not only does it show my breakfast of overnight oats, but it also fulfills the Instagram Photo Challenge (where you ate breakfast). My oatmeal is very thick, especially since I used Fage Greek yogurt this morning. Often I do not finish my breakfast on the ten minute drive to my coworker/carpooler’s house and polish it off as a passenger. As for my oatmeal, here was my magic formula for today: 1/2 cup oats, tablespoon chia seeds, 1/2 cup milk, 1/2 cup yogurt, large scoop of pumpkin, one small banana, honey, pumpkin pie spice, and a dollop of sunflower seed butter. Does the pumpkin count as a veggie?

Snack at 9:40am
This snack happens in anticipation of future hunger. Because of my schedule, I do not have the ability to eat around 10:30am when my breakfast normally wears off. I stick to high protein snacks, like this string cheese stick (which I eat the “wrong” way), almonds, or a hard boiled egg. No picture was taken of this because I ate it while walking down the hall after a meeting two minutes before third hour started.

Lunch at 12:45am

20120411-202012.jpg
When my mom, sister, and I were out running errands Monday morning, we swung by Aldi’s. Once again, I left with lots of produce. Two of the green goodies I picked up, green beans for 59 cents (I kid you not!) and Brussels sprouts, were roasted last night. The pork is from last week; it had been frozen since Wednesday but I thawed a small Tupperware of it for our Cuban sandwiches. An unpictured pear satisfied my sweet tooth…until I can get home for a Reese’s Egg that is.

Snack at 3:45pm
This afternoon I needed a snack before yoga, and this chocolate chip cookie dough Larabar totally hit the spot: protein, texture, and sweetness.

20120411-202054.jpg

Dinner at 7:30pm
Brody requested a moderately healthy dinner, and knowing I had peppers in the vegetable drawer and chicken in the freezer, fajitas came to mind.

20120411-202131.jpg
I used a liquid fajita sauce that had a very smoky flavor. I topped mine with Wholly Guacamole, Fage 0% Greek yogurt, and salsa. For dessert I had fresh pineapple and a Reese’s Egg.

I think I did pretty well with my veggies today. In general, I find it a lot easier to eat fruit, but since realizing how much I like roasted veggies, I am getting better.

I hope you had a good day of eats today!

Question:
What was your favorite meal today? Mine was probably dinner (including the pineapple and Reese’s

6 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday

  1. Today was not special, but yesterday I has roasted brussel sprouts, sweet potato and baked chicken! Yum- good job Mom. I agree with roasting veggies, so delicious! Dinner I had a Bison burger- thought of you!

Leave a Reply

