Thankful Thursday

It’s that time of the week again: Thankful Thursday! Being aware of the little and big things in life begins when I sit down to free write with my first hour students. With this intention, I have a positive outlook on the day, which isn’t normally a problem for me as I would definitely classify myself as a “glass half full” kind of person.

New Kicks

20120329-181749.jpg
My ankles and calves look huge from this angle; I do have big calves (just like my mother) but think I have proportionate ankles.
With about eight weeks left of marathon training, and many long Saturday runs coming up, there was no way my shoes were going to hold up. While I normally wait until my knees start to ache to buy new ones, I figured that was not a smart idea at this point. Plus, I wanted to have ample time to break in the shoes before the marathon at the end of May. My new Asics Gel Nimbus 12s arrived on Tuesday! I ran five miles in them this morning on the treadmill, and they felt good. I plan to wear them for my long run on Saturday.

Spring Break
In less than twenty-four hours, my break begins. I have absolutely no big plans for my time off and that sounds amazing. Of course I will have grading to do, but I also hope to paint the living room and hallway, go to lunch with friends, run at more normal times of day, and relax on the couch.

Sparkly Flats
/>
20120329-193912.jpg
Basically these but in silver.
Yes, I am being thankful for two pairs of shoes. I knew I was going to have an uncomfortable (emotional not physical) meeting after work today and figured I should have something bright, shiny and happy to look at during those tense moments. While I try to be pretty open, if I am going to say something in front of my colleagues, I need time to think about it and process it first. As I predicted, I spoke very little and had my pretty shoes to look at.

Green Monster Smoothies
I can’t seem to get enough of these lately. Tonight Brody had hockey and had a quick sandwich before he left, so I was on my own for dinner. When contemplating my options, the only thing that sounded good was a smoothie. It has many of the food groups: vegetable (spinach), fruit (banana), protein (soy milk and peanut butter), and fat (peanut butter). Brody said my smoothie looked like poop, but he doesn’t know how good it tastes. I offered him a sample but he was being a party-pooper doesn’t care for bananas.

Fitness Magazines
Without magazines to keep my mind occupied while running on the treadmill, I don’t know how I would survive even thirty minutes. I love reading fitness magazines while working out and have subscriptions to Shape, Fitness, and Self. This morning I read the April issue of Shape with Allison Sweeney on the cover; she looks incredible! She also is running (or did just run) her first marathon. Besides reading magazines, I also plug my headphones into the tv and listen/watch the news.

Tomorrow is Friday, and I can’t wait. Have a good night!

Questions:
What are you thankful for today?
What is the craziest thing you can do while running?

Leave a Reply

