Yard Work Rewarded with Meatballs and Ice Cream

Happy Wednesday! How was your day? Mine was surprisingly good for a Wednesday. And who could ask for better weather? I don’t know if it’s possible for me to have a bad day when it is 80 degrees.

After my hair history post, I thought I would share a picture of how my hair looks curly now.

20120321-204257.jpg

I took this in the backseat of my coworker/carpooler’s car on my iPad without him noticing. It isn’t nearly as curly as it used to be, but I wouldn’t call it wavy.

*****

After a fun day at school, I had a list of to-dos that began with the dog park. Today was a rest day for me because my quads and inner thighs were killing me from Monday’s BodyPump and yesterday’s run. The pups and I did two laps which was about one and a half to two miles. It felt good to get the blood flowing in my legs and further enjoy the beautiful weather. The dogs’ tongues hung out of their mouths after one lap; if these temps continue, I’ll need to start bringing water to the park…for the dogs and me.

Yard work was also on my list of things to do tonight. Two years ago I planted two tall grasses on each side of the front steps to our house. They look great (IMO) and add height to the front landscaping. Unfortunately, they require a little trimming every year. I like plants that are very low (or no) maintenance, and cutting these grasses tonight took more time than I had expected. So, I only did one side of the house.

Here is the finished side:

20120321-214737.jpg

Here is the unfinished side:

20120321-214819.jpg

It is supposed to rain tomorrow afternoon and evening, so it looks like the overgrown and dead grasses on the left side of my house will have to wait until Friday.

*****
Brody got home from Crossfit just as I was starting dinner. He requested something healthy, and I chose to make Chicken Teriyaki Meatballs from Real Simple. Normally I use turkey but chicken was on sale. No pictures, though – I inhaled my dinner faster than you could say meatball. I did take a moment to capture this image of my dessert.

20120321-215443.jpg

I have to say I wasn’t that impressed with Ben and Jerry’s frozen Greek yogurt. The texture was a little chalky, and I found myself only enjoying the chocolate chunks. Compared to the Cinnamon Buns flavor I got for Brody (which has 80 more calories and 5 more grams of fat), the frozen Greek yogurt leaves something to be desired. I would rather eat less of the full fat stuff than more of the yogurt kind. I am glad I tried it though. You win some, you lose some.

Questions:
Do you enjoy yard work, planting, or gardening?
What ice cream or fro yo did you last eat?

Leave a Reply

