Thankful Thursday

Aside from my yucky afternoon yesterday, I have been having an incredible weekend and have a lot to appreciate.

I am thankful for…

A fantastic pizza place close by
Salvatore’s is about ten minutes away from our house, and we love their pizza! Tuesday early evening I came back from a run to see Brody looking at Salvatore’s menu, and it made sense; neither of us felt like cooking or having lots of leftovers. They had added two new pizzas to the menu including Asian Take-Out (house made sesame chicken, with our own peanut sauce, roasted red peppers, garlic and fresh cilantro). I thought it had great flavor, and Brody liked it too but said without red sauce, it didn’t “feel” like pizza.

20120315-223042.jpg

Amazing and unseasonably warm weather
Seventy degrees in the middle of March? Yes please! For someone who dislikes cold weather (me), this has been the best year ever: least snow fall, most moderate temperatures, and a summer-like spring. As mentioned before, I have been taking advantage of the weather by running outside, including one early morning run this week. Wednesday morning I ran with my neighbor at 5:15am and it was already in the fifties.

Salads for lunch
When the weather starts to get nicer, my craving for salads starts up again. With all of the produce I got at Aldi’s Friday night, I had lots of toppings for my salads. This week I enjoyed red leaf lettuce, carrots, roasted asparagus, tomatoes, and avocado. I experimented with topping it with nutritional yeast, hummus (as the dressing), and cottage cheese.

20120315-223742.jpg

Finishing books (and crying a little)
Tonight I finished reading The Road, and I cried. I was told by a coworker that I would, and of course I was around people and had no tissue. This book was repetitive but engaging. I love utopian/dystopian novels and stories. Some of my favorites include The Martian Chronicles by Ray Bradbury, The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood, Brave New World by Aldous Huxley, and The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. My only complaint with The Road is that I wanted to know what happened that made the world what it was, but I think the ambiguity was part of the suspense. Next up, Sarah’s Key. 🙂

That’s all for now! Hope you had a very thankful Thursday as well!

Leave a Reply

