Foodie Pen Pals – February Edition

Who doesn’t love getting packages in the mail?  When I heard about Lindsay’s Foodie Pen Pal monthly event from Sarah’s blog, I signed up.  As I mention on my About Me page, I find the blogging community to be very supportive and would like to be more active in it. Participating in Foodie Pen Pals seemed like a great way to jumpstart that goal.

You see, I love food, and considering the last handful of posts have been about food, this shouldn’t come as a surprise.  I’m actually one of those crazy people who enjoys grocery shopping (I realize this may change when kids are in the picture), so imagine my excitement in being able to shop for another person and treat them with a box of goodies.  Obviously I was also giddy at the thought of receiving a box in the mail.  Thanks so much for setting this up Lindsay!

My Foodie Pen Pal this month was Carrie from Family Fitness Food.  After the pairings came out, I began following her blog, reading about her journey going back to school, working through an injury, and her kids’ adventures..  She also gave me some blogging advice. 🙂

My box from Carrie was Valentine’s Day theme – perfect for February!

It included a Valentine’s Day mug, these amazing shortbread cookies with dark chocolate squares in the middle, a bar of dark chocolate, Ghiradelli hot cocoa, a jar filled with the dry ingredients for Oatmeal Chocolate Chip cookies, and a sweet handwritten note.  I dove into the chocolate bar first.  Mmmmm….

That took about three days to eat.  Dark chocolate is perfect for me because my sweet tooth (which is massive) is satisfied with a couple chunks.  Please disregard my child/man hand.

Just last night, I finished the box of cookies.  These I savored and only ate two at a time.  One night Brody did ask for a bite and I gave him a “Are you crazy?” look.  I only had one left!  I gave him the rest of it and ate the last one.  Crisis averted…but then they were gone and I cried a little inside.

The mug has been used for both hot cocoa (ummm…”nice” hot chocolate is SO much better than the generic Swiss Miss I normally buy) and coffee on weekend mornings (along with toast, banana, water, and blog reading).

I haven’t baked the cookies yet because I made Smitten Kitchen’s Salted Oatmeal White Chocolate Cookies on Thursday.  Soon, though…don’t worry (and I’ll have pictures as proof).  Plus, the jar looks so pretty in my newly arranged cupboard.

Thank you SO much Carrie!  I feel very lucky to have had such a great Foodie Pen Pal for my first month.

I already agreed to participate again in March, so look for another edition of Foodie Pen Pals at the end of next month.  Thanks again to Lindsay for taking the time to match everyone!

Questions: 
What kinds of packages do you get in the mail?

Brody likes to order clothes online, so we get a lot of stuff from The Clymb and Amazon.  He buys me stuff too and is really good about finding great deals.

If you went off to college, did your mom/dad/parents ever send you food?

Nope…never 😦  But I only lived about two hours away, and whenever I came home, my family would send me back with a ton of food.  My grandma used to look through her pantry, scrounging for something to give me.  It was sweet of her.

2 thoughts on “Foodie Pen Pals – February Edition

  1. I’m so glad you enjoyed the goodies. I hope the cookies turn out yummy, that recipe in the jar looked so cute.

    My goal for this month is to put something together with no sweets. I love the recipe in the jar thing and need to come up with a savory one.

    So great to get to know you and I look forward to reading more.

    • The jar is adorable. I’ve always wanted to try making them because they make cute gifts.

      For my foodie pen pal, I considered sending her a Wisconsin theme gift box of cheese and beer, but I worry the beer bottle would break and the cheese would go bad. If only the food could stay cold, we’d have a lot more options. Maybe there are certain cheeses that are okay if they come to room temperature…I’ll have to do some research. Now I’m rambling…

Leave a Reply

