I Drink, I Cook, and I Bake (other people’s recipes)

My food choices haven’t changed dramatically since stumbling into the blogging world, but I have found a plethora of resources (aka blogs) from which I refer to. Instead of turning to the cookbooks in the pantry, I find myself reaching for my iPad. Here are a few of the recent recipes I have made and the blogs they come from.

Iced Coffee from Carrots N’ Cake

20120225-083548.jpg
I have always loved iced coffee but never thought about “making” it myself. Tina, from Carrots N’ Cake, has explained multiple times on her blog how she makes a big pot of coffee and keeps it in a pitcher in the fridge. Why didn’t I ever think to do this? A full pot (for which I use six heaping tablespoons of coffee) lasts me about five days and saves so much time in the morning. Even in the winter (which has been extremely mild this year) I have been sipping on iced coffee and enjoying it. The coffee above was bought to drink with dessert on Christmas; it’s been waiting patiently to be consumed while I finished off the DD pumpkin spice. I think I need a spring flavor next, like the DD strawberry shortcake.

Thai Chicken and Pineapple Stir Fry from Skinny Taste
I’ve said it before, but I find Gina’s recipes delicious, practical for us, and easy to follow. This one did not disappoint either.

20120225-084618.jpg
The recipe came together quickly – just a little stir frying…

20120225-173836.jpg
And then this happened, and it was over before I knew it. Yummy! I did not add the hot pepper and forgot to add red pepper flakes as the substitute, so it was pretty sweet and could’ve used a little heat to cut the sugar. Next time, though, because I definitely plan on making this again. 🙂

Salted Oatmeal White Chocolate Cookies from Smitten Kitchen

20120225-174548.jpg
Brody loves these cookies, and I did make them partially for him to enjoy. But I also baked them for Emily, one of the ladies in the Wine and Recipe Club. Last time we all got together, Emily was scheduled for her C-section four days later. I mentioned these cookies and Emily commented how fantastic they sounded. Last night, I hosted Wine and Recipe Night, and Emily brought little four-week old Ella along (I got to hold her…so little). I was happy to give her some cookies to bring home. With taking care of an infant and a two-year old, Emily has no time to bake. I hope she enjoys the cookies!
I follow the recipe to a T except I use fine grain sea salt on the top instead of flaked salt. I bake them for thirteen minutes but could (and will next time) leave them in for only twelve to ensure they stay a little gooey-er.
Please consider baking them this weekend and tell me what you think.

Happy drinking, cooking, and baking!

Leave a Reply

