Thankful Thursday on Sunday

Like any routine, it takes a while to become established. This is why I am not reading too much into my forgetfulness in not doing a Thankful Thursday post on Thursday. Plus, it was Brody’s birthday. Without further ado, here are some things I am thankful for.

Cheesecake
My cheesecake turned out! I followed the instructions exactly and remembered to read them in their entirety before starting. I was kind of sad that the top cracked but c’est la vie. Brody and I each enjoyed a small slice last night after our dinner at Sardine. The hint of lemon added brightness to the flavor and the SEVEN eggs made it super creamy and rich.

Running with Friends
If I would’ve run on my own yesterday, I probably would not have gone outside. At only ten degrees, the treadmill would’ve won. But I had a running date with a friend who I hadn’t seen or run with for months. Nicole and I set out to do five miles looping past Lake Monona and into the Willy Street neighborhood. We ended up doing four and a half with a few walk breaks. It was lovely, and some random person even called us hardcore as we ran past.

Quick Grocery Store Trips
Sunday is normally the worst day for shopping at Copp’s, but it was not bad this morning. Before leaving I planned out a few meals (more on these this week) and made a list. I found my items quickly, didn’t dawdle looking at random food, and only needed to wait behind one person to checkout.

The Voice
Brody likes Cee Lo; otherwise I could not get Brody to watch a reality show about singing. Honestly, though, I never got into American Idol and have never watched The X-Factor. I appreciate the way the show starts with the coaches not seeing the singers and then the coaches (Adam Levine, Blake Shelton, Cee Lo Green, and Christina Aguilera) literally coach and work with the contestants. I am excited it is back on for a second season!

Weekend Naps
Brody and Frankie took a nap together on Saturday.

20120212-154631.jpg
Aren’t they adorable? I took my weekend nap today and it was lovely. During one semester of my senior year of college, I took a nap almost every day after lunch.

Birthday Dinners
20120212-164707.jpg
Last night, Brody and I had a great time at Sardine. The drinks, appetizer, and dinners were fantastic. I had the half chicken and Brody had steak frites. If you are ever in the Madison area, please try Sardine. As always our food was delicious and we had a great time celebrating the beginning of Brody’s thirty-first year on this earth.

Question: What are you thankful for?

Leave a Reply

