Run Pump Yoga

Last week, after reading and seeing Janetha’s post about her Livefit results, I was in awe – you have to check it out. Amazing! Ummm, can I look like that if I follow the program? Seeing those pictures made me momentarily regret being in the midst of marathon training. I know I can tackle it after the marathon, but our plans are to be in Europe early July. It would’ve been amazing to look and feel like that on vacation.

Speaking of the marathon training, it is going pretty well. I haven’t really talked much about my running or workout schedule, so here’s what I’ve been doing and continue to plan on doing.

-two shorter runs during the week; normally Tuesday and Thursday; 3 – 6 miles each
-one long run Saturday (only at 6 miles so far – I will end up doing two 20 milers)
-one recovery run on Sunday; normally 3 miles
-two days of BodyPump; normally the 5:30am class on Monday and Wednesday morning
-one day of elliptical or yoga (sometimes)
-one to two days of rest

Besides this, I also walk at the dog park for 30 to 45 minutes about five times a week. Plus, as a teacher, I am on my feet for a majority of the day. No wonder I can fall asleep within a few minutes of closing my eyes at night.

I credit BodyPump with making me a better and healthier runner. Now with my Garmin watch my sister-in-law gave me for Christmas, I watch my pace when I run outside. I’ve noticed I run faster outside than I do inside on the treadmill. Shouldn’t it be the opposite? But really, with stronger legs and arms, everything moves more efficiently. I haven’t noticed a big change in my body; maybe my arms and legs are a little firmer but nothing drastic.

20120207-204947.jpg

The other type of exercise I wish I could do on a weekly basis is yoga at Inner Fire Yoga. This studio is fantastic, but I unfortunately live a good thirty minutes away. With an hour and fifteen minutes class, that’s a two and a half to three hour commitment. Luckily, I was able to squeeze in a class Sunday morning and did this instead of my recovery run. The flow class was sweaty and challenging, and the instructor, who was new to me, had a positive teaching style. Instead of saying how the room was warm, he kept calling it juicy.

20120207-204235.jpg
source

Being active makes me a happier person, and I have found that going even a few days without sweating makes me a little crazy and sometimes overly emotional. My body relies on those endorphins! I feel lucky that my parents signed me up for ballet at a young age and instilled in me other healthy habits.

Question: What is your healthiest daily habit?

One thought on “Run Pump Yoga

Leave a Reply

